last nights burgers

I think I have turned my husband into a vegetarian!  Just kidding.  That will actually never happen. EVER!  But I have to admit, he can’t stop talking about those amazing black bean burgers  from a few weeks ago.   When he mentioned wanting to make burgers last night, I was assuming his usual beef burgers.  However, I was pleasantly surprised when he said he really wanted the black bean burgers again.

We played with the recipe a bit and added a few more spices.  1 jalapeno pepper, cumin, chili powder and paprika.  Other than that we followed the same basic recipe from last time.

While Taylor was about half way through his burger he said, “you know what would taste awesome on these?  Bacon.”  I rest my case.

We enjoyed our burgers with a side of Kale Chips . If you have not tried these, you must.  They are better than french fries, and way better than potato chips. I promise!

We ended up eating our dinner around 9:30 last night.  Which is usually when we like to be in bed.  However, we really enjoyed our meal and laughed about how far we have come in the world of cooking.  If this was us 4 years ago, we would have bought veggie patties from the frozen food section at the store.  Things are getting better!

Henry is proud of us!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to last nights burgers

  1. Matthew K. says:

    These burgers are really great. I am not a big fan of the frozen veggie burger and am thrilled about this recipe. I have made them a handful of times and they always taste good. I started making them with two eggs, and found this has helped hold them together much better.

    Glad to see you are back at driving the van to market. Glad also that I live in Minneapolis;)

  2. Julie says:

    We’re totally making black bean burger with bacon on them tonight! Going a little southwestern too with some cumin and corn added!

  3. Leese says:

    Love your ideas. You’ve definitely inspired me and my husband to eat more vegetarian meals. I’ll bet some slightly undercooked diced potatoes will find their way into those patties. Love it,love it, love it! And thanks so much for your post after you’ve had such a grueling day at work. As so many others have pronounced,we all are finding greater appreciaton for our food providers. Kudos to you!

    • drealieberg says:

      Thanks!
      And great ideas about the diced potatoes!!! We will definitely try that next time we make the patties!!!!

  4. Leese says:

    * sweet potatoes.

Leave a Reply

