random facts

It’s 7:30 on a Wednesday night.  We have not even started cooking dinner.  I think burgers are on the menu, but Taylor is still outside mowing the lawn.  I just finished up with my house chores, but am already feeling my eyelids droop. The life of a farmer/caretaker can be a bit grueling.  However, we somehow always manage to eat a great dinner.

I have a lot of friends ask me how on earth we manage to cook dinner every night on top of farming and caretaking.

My only answer is our stomachs!  I love food.  I love eating food.  But most importantly, I love cooking food.  Cooking for other people is so gratifying.  It  has become something that I NEED to do.  It relaxes me.  When I come home covered in dirt, sweaty, and sometimes a little cranky, I turn to our kitchen.  Food is a comfort.  And standing in front of the stove stirring risotto for 30 minutes counts as therapy in my book.  And there is nothing more simple than that.

I almost forgot, cooking counts as cardio!  Even better.

So if you ever find yourself in our neck of the woods, come on over for dinner.  We are always cooking something up!

I’ll let you know what happens with these burgers.  We may not eat until 10pm!  Have a great night!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to random facts

  1. Lauren says:

    This is me and my husband’s life too! Not due to farming but due to odd work/school schedules… cooking, usually with beer in hand, is the best way for me to unwind after a long day, and it feels so good to provide for others. So glad to hear you feel the same! Hope the burgers are great.

    • drealieberg says:

      Isn’t cooking the best! For some people (you and me it sounds like) it is not a chore, but a nice relaxing activity. I love it! So glad you do as well!

  2. HeidiK says:

    Still impressive (and inspiring!) that you put together something wholesome and real night after night!! It’s so easy to fall back on something quick and possibly unhealthy… someday I will consistently do as well as you guys do (I’m not there yet though… oy…!!)

  3. kat says:

    Cooking is definately the fun part…but the clean up after a long day…what a drag…but your hard work is inspirational and the meals look delicious!

    • drealieberg says:

      I have learned to clean as I go!!! It is less of a pain in the end. Plus, Taylor and I play games to see who has to do dishes! That can be fun too!

Leave a Reply

