if i see one more weed….

Anyone who is curious why organic food is more expensive, I have an answer.  Weeds.  We spend so much time hoeing and hand weeding, that when I fall asleep at night all I see is weeds.  Tons and tons of weeds.  They are not only taking over the farm, but they are taking over my life!  My arms are killing me.   We literally spent 8 hours hoeing today.

The good news is that our lettuce is happy.  Now if only I could feel my arms I would be happy too!

So what does one do when they can’t feel their arms because they spent too much time weeding….make risotto.  Yes, I am crazy.  My arms got the ultimate workout.  8 hours hoeing, 30 minutes stirring risotto.

No pain, no gain.  This was DELICIOUS!

We served our risotto with a side of roasted brussels, and farm fresh lettuce that Taylor harvested.

It’s as big as my head!

We have the best lettuce.  It’s a true fact!

Shiitake mushroom risotto recipe (I added bacon, but if you are a veggie you can easily omit this)

2 cups shiitake mushrooms, cleaned, and cut into 1 inch pieces

4 slices of bacon

2 tbs olive oil

1 onion diced

1 tbs minced garlic

2 cups risotto rice

1 cup dry white wine

6 cups chicken broth

1/4 cup shredded parmesan cheese

1/4 cup chopped flat leaf parsely

salt and pepper to taste

1. Bring broth to a simmer in a medium sized pot.  Keep at a simmer until ready to use.

2.  Fry bacon until nice and crisp.  (I fried mine in a heavy bottomed 8-qt pot.)  Big enough to hold all the risotto.  Once the bacon is done, set aside.  When it is cool enough tear it into small pieces.  Keep it set aside until later.

3.  In the bacon fat add the diced garlic and onion.  Saute over medium heat for about 5 minutes.  Add the mushrooms and continue to sautee for another 5 minutes.  If it’s dry (which it shouldn’t be) you can add some olive oil to the pan.

4.  Add the rice.  Cook for about 2-3 minutes.  Stirring constantly.  Add the wine.  Stir until the wine is completely absorbed by the rice.  Add the hot broth, 1 cup at a time.  Stir until each addition is absorbed by the rice before adding the next cup.  Keep stirring and adding broth until the rice is tender to the bite (about 20 minutes.)

5. Remove rice from heat, stir in parmesan, bacon crumbles, parsley, and pepper.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to if i see one more weed….

  1. Jean says:

    You should buy a whole new sleeveless wardrobe to show off those arms. And you have leftover risotto that I bet you will make into something smashing tomorrow.

  2. Amy leclerc says:

    Makes me think of the risotto we made in Manzanita! Yummy!

  3. Karen Anne says:

    That lettuce is beautiful.

  4. Julie says:

    Man I love risotto. Is there anything better? Throw whatever into it…it’s like a more comforting pasta dish….and who knew anything could get more comforting than pasta? Hey, are you still running?

    • drealieberg says:

      Risotto is the best!
      Yes, I am still running. Trying to sign up for a half marathon next month. But….the weather is getting so hot! I hate running in the humidity! Wish I was training out west!

Leave a Reply

