caramelized onion and blue cheese pizza

All this cold rainy weather has me craving comfort food.  By now I thought I would be craving fresh veggies and light pastas.  But no.  I am craving bacon, cheese, and warm bread.

Thankfully I am not alone.  Taylor is feeling the same way.  And last night we made a great pizza that satisfied all of our cravings.

I was immediately reminded of this day, when I dreamed up a pizza recipe while harvesting carrots in similar weather last fall.  The pizza we made followed this same recipe except we substituted the apple for a pear.  And most importantly, you MUST caramelize your onions in the bacon fat and maple syrup for that extra kick!  We also added a handful of mozzarella cheese at the end.

We enjoyed our tasty pizza with a side of farm fresh salad.  Ha, we did get those veggies in! Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to caramelized onion and blue cheese pizza

  1. Jean says:

    That pizza looks yummy on these cold, raw days. BTW, have you tried Samira’s Homemade Muhammara. It’s roasted red peppers, pomegranate and walnuts with a nice kick. I think you will like it. Maybe on the black bean patties or a pizza or the end of your finger for that matter.

    • drealieberg says:

      ohhh, that sounds great! I have not tried it yet. I am anxious to see Samira and Ragab this spring. Can’t wait to try the Muhammara! Thanks for the heads up!

Leave a Reply

