colder weather part 2

I am an Oregonian.  I can handle the rain.

To be honest it’s pretty comforting to dress for the rain.  The cold however, is a different story.  It chills you to the bone.

We got to plant basil in some stormy weather today. The basil is like me.  It doesn’t mind the rain, but it better not get TOO cold!

Beautiful basil.  My hands still smell fragrant with their scent.  Better than any perfume in the world!

Since the weather was so stormy and we are all caught up in the greenhouse, we got a surprise.  Early release from the farm!  Which means I have plenty of time get other chores done and dream up a good dinner.

Speaking of good dinners, this is a picture of the lovely pork chops we made the other night.  They were divine.  We served them up with some roasted brussels sprouts, and a spoonful of kale pesto on top.  Another great way to warm up!

Here is the recipe for parmesan-crusted pork chops:

Ingredients

2 large eggs

1 cup dried Italian-style bread crumbs

3/4 cups freshly grated parmesan

4 (1/2 to 3/4-inch thick) pork chops

Salt and freshly ground black pepper

About 6 tablespoons olive oil

Directions:

Whisk the eggs in a bowl.  Place the bread crumbs in another bowl. Place the cheese in a third bowl. Sprinkle the pork chops generously with salt and pepper. Coat the chops completely with the cheese. Dip the chops into the eggs, then coat completely with the bread crumbs.

Heat 3 tablespoons of oil in a very large skillet over medium heat. Add pork chops, in batches if necessary, and cook until golden brown (about 6 minutes per side)  Serve hot!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to colder weather part 2

  1. Julie says:

    Oooh roasted brussels sprouts…I should make those again soon.

  2. merry warner says:

    Now that I’ve lived in Arizona for so long, I cannot handle the cold as well as I used to. But right now, we’ve having high 70’s degree weather and rain, which for May is very unusual. My basil is doing well so hopefully this cold spell won’t upset it. I have a very small garden, compared to what you do on a daily basis.

  3. Liz says:

    Hello! I am very curious about the basil picture you have here. I am someone who learned to farm in Northern California and I never saw that crop with plastic or row cover. We used black, plastic-like row cover on our eggplants and peppers to attract extra heat, so I have a little experience with this. Here, are you using the plastic to prevent the basil from getting too wet? To prevent some kind of pest? Does the plastic have a special name? Are you punching holes in it as you transplant each plant? Does the plastic come off at any stage?

    Thanks for any help. I’m meeting a lot of folks in the east who have trouble growing pretty basil!

    An avid reader, though infrequent commenter,
    Liz

    PS – I realized I wrote the wrong e-mail address on my previous comment, so that’s why I’m writing again. Sorry!

    • drealieberg says:

      Hi Liz,

      We plant a lot of our veggies in the plastic mulch to prevent weeds. We typically lay the plastic on beds where we plant things that will be in the ground for a long time. Like basil, eggplant, peppers, tomatoes, ect. We don’t do it for things like lettuce because we pick through it so quickly. We run a drip tape under the plastic to help with irrigation as well. It seems to work really well. And yes, we punch holes in the plastic as we plant.

      Hope that helps!!!

      Thanks for reading along!

Leave a Reply

