a great surprise

I woke up yesterday morning feeling a little homesick.  Little did I know someone very near and dear to my heart was driving south to come see me.

Erika!!! She drove down from Lake Placid, New York and spent the weekend with us.

It was perfect timing because I have been missing my family lately and Erika is just like a sister to me.  We had the best weekend and I feel like a new person.  Isn’t it great how friends can have that effect on you? She is the best!

She is a natural in the dirt!

We snacked on some lettuce while we walked around the farm.

We were dreaming up ideas for dinner.  Erika and I work well in the kitchen together so naturally we created a masterpiece!

Portabella mushroom burgers with kale pesto, sweet potato fries, and salad.

The portabella burgers were SO delicious.  They tasted great with my kale pesto and some extra sharp cheddar cheese.

Here’s what ya need: (serves 4 people)

2 egg whites

1 tbs olive oil

1/3 cup bread crumbs

2 tbs chili powder

4 portabella mushroom caps

Preheat oven to 450

In a bowl, beat egg whites and oil to blend.  In another bowl mix the bread crumbs and chili powder.  Dip each mushroom cap first in the egg wash then into the bread crumbs.  Place on a cookie sheet and bake for 20 minutes.

We topped our burgers with kale pesto, sliced red onion, and extra sharp cheddar cheese.  I highly recommend eating your burger with a side of sweet potato fries and salad!  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to a great surprise

  1. amy leclerc says:

    Two words: VERY. JEALOUS.

    Seeing Erika’s picture makes me miss her too! Darn, wish I had been there. I need more dirt in my life. Glad you had a little pick me up. Nothing like spending the weekend with the ones you love most.

    xo

  2. Karen Anne says:

    Those plants are really spaced out nicely, how did you do that? Thanks.

Leave a Reply

