make this tonight

Sorry for my lack of posting the past couple of days.  I was a little under the weather.  However, I am feeling back to normal and have a recipe that was so good I am planning on making it again Tuesday night for my in-laws.

This recipe required a last minute sprint to the leeks that were still hiding at the farm.  I ran as fast as I could to get to them before Taylor mowed them down.  He is getting that area ready to plant something else and I wanted to grab a few more leeks before they were toast!

Once I had my leeks I headed over to my girlfriend Ashley’s house.

Ashley and I have a name for ourselves when we cook.  “Buddies on a Budget.” We coined the name when we were both living in Bend, OR.  We love cooking together and not spending a dime on the meal.  We call each other ahead of time and see what the other has in their pantry and make a meal up from there.  It works really well, and you normally avoid a trip to the grocery store.  Brilliant!

Anyway, the other night we had supplies on hand to make a really delicious pizza.  It involved leeks, mushrooms, and gruyere cheese.  Simple.  Plus Ashley is a pro with the pizza dough.

Well….kind of.

Cooking the leeks and mushrooms.  The smells in the kitchen were to die for.

My mouth is watering just thinking about this pizza.  I am telling you it was easy and oh so good.  I am making it again in two nights!

Here is what you will need:

3 leeks, (white and light green parts only) chopped up

1 1/2  to 2 cups chopped cremini mushrooms (you can use any mushroom you like)

2 tsp thyme (you can use fresh but we had dried)

1 cup shredded gruyere cheese

3 tbs butter

3 tbs heavy cream

salt and pepper to taste

Preheat your oven to 375

Begin by sauteeing your leeks in the butter over medium heat.  Cook for about 5 minutes.  Then add your mushrooms and a dash of salt.  Cook over high for about 10 minutes.  The mushrooms will release a lot of liquid.  Stir in thyme and the cream. Turn off the stove.

Then roll out your dough and drizzle some olive oil over it.  Then spread half your shredded cheese over the dough.  Add your leeks and mushrooms, and then sprinkle the rest of the cheese on top.

Bake in the oven for about 15-20 minutes.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to make this tonight

  1. Jean says:

    Glad you are feeling better. This has to be the best-ever pizza. Can’t wait to try it. My favorite combination of flavors.

  2. Erika says:

    Hi, Andrea!!
    I made this! Yum, Yum, Yum. I used Gouda for cheese, which was tasty, and also added some spinach and a sliced fresh tomato to the mixture. Miss you. XO Erika

  3. liz says:

    Andrea, we made the pizza as well tonight. We topped ours with some arugula, freshly squeezed lemon, and some good quality salt. Your dad thought it was the best pizza ever. He says that often but i have to admit it was really great. Left overs for my lunch tomorrow which will be yummy.

    We’ll give Erika’s Gouda a try next time as it sounds good as well.
    Big day in Boston tomorrow so have fun.

  4. Jill says:

    Great recipe, thanks so much! I made it last night with smoked gouda and avoided a trip to the store. Even better I didn’t waste the leeks I had. Husband loved it and we had another meatless Monday.

    • drealieberg says:

      I am SO glad you made it! The smoked gouda sounds like a great alternative! I actually made this pizza again tonight for my in-laws. We are hooked!

Leave a Reply

