good news…

Basil will still be available at Hutchins Farm this year!  Look what is growing strong in the greenhouse after my shaking fingers seeded it.

Beautiful basil!

I am not going to lie, I thought I screwed this whole operation up.  I was positive I either seeded too many seeds or not enough.  I guess my tiny shaking fingers did a good job.  We will still have summer!  Of course weather permitting.

I can almost taste the basil right now.  We are getting close folks!

That was the highlight of my day.  The low to my day was waking up and looking out the window at this.

Stormy weather.

The good news about stormy weather is that I have a cure.

A few games of backgammon.  And……..

A cheese burger and parsnip fries.

And guess what, these parsnip fries aren’t your regular old parsnip fries.  I lathered these guys in almond butter, olive oil, and sea salt.  Strange? Yes.  Delicious? Absolutely! I can’t explain it.  The almond butter added such a great taste I would take these fries any day over regular french fries.  Trust me!

Here is what you do.

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

Cut your parsnips into french fry pieces.  ( I used 4 large parsnips for this.  Perfect for two servings)

In a small bowl combine roughly 4 tbs of almond butter with 1 tbs of extra virgin olive oil.  Add some sea salt to the mix and blend.

Coat each parsnip in the mix. Place on a cookie sheet.

Roast in the oven at 400 for 45-50 minutes.  Serve hot!  They are to die for!  I promise.  They also taste great with a burger.  Thanks to Tamsen we have been enjoying local beef from her family’s farm.  Yum!

How do you all enjoy your parsnips? We are looking for more ways to cook up the only thing we are able to harvest right now!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to good news…

  1. Beth says:

    Wow! You are one adventurous cook!
    Those parsnip fries are definitely intriguing…
    Will try some soon. Thanks for a very unusual idea

  2. Liza says:

    the seeding queen!!! yay!

    also, your dinner looks amazing!!

    • drealieberg says:

      I think I am the seeding princess, and you are the official seeding queen! I need you in the greenhouse! Hurry up!!!

  3. Ceci says:

    I am a burger SNOB! And that burger looks REALLY good! It’s the best food in the world – (almost)

    Yum!

  4. korinda says:

    I made the scallion pancakes and they were DELICIOUS! But now it’s 2 days later and I still can’t get the smell out of my house…oh well!

  5. Sue says:

    Very creative – coating parsnips in almond butter and putting them in the oven. I wouldn’t have thought about doing it, but I’ll try it!! Looks delicious to me..

    • drealieberg says:

      It really does sound strange, but this combo worked really well. We were talking about them at breakfast this morning and marveling at how great they were! Give it a whirl and let me know.

  6. Matthew Kunnari says:

    Try steaming rather large pieces of julienned parsnips in water that has a healthy splash of maple syrup added. Whisk together a tablespoon or two of melted butter and maple syrup to pour over the steamed parsnips (or skip the butter & use only maple syrup). Salt & pepper to taste. Really simple. Really good. Both in season right now. Enjoy!

    • drealieberg says:

      Thank you for the idea! We just got a gallon of maple syrup from our friends farm! We will definitely try this. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

