some tasty chili

For those of you who live near/in Concord, MA.  I have a tasty treat for you.

We were hard at work harvesting…….

Parsnips are available at the front porch of the farm stand!  They are delicious roasted, boiled, pureed, fried, and even raw!  Swing by and grab a bag.

Speaking of tasty treats, last night I broke into a Christmas present from my father-in-law.

He loves mole sauce and so do we.  So last night I decided to try something fun.  Mole Chili with a side of jalapeno corn bread.

It was delicious and easy.

Thanks to my dear friend Tamsen I had some fresh ground beef from her parents farm.  That was a huge bonus and it tasted awesome in this dish.

Here is what you will need for the chili.

1 pound ground meat

1 yellow onion chopped

4 cloves of garlic minced

1 can diced tomatoes

2 cans red kidney beans

1 cup water

2 tbs chili powder

3 tbs mole sauce (mixed with 12 tbs of water to form a sauce)

A dash of bbq sauce

2 tsp cumin

1 jalapeno diced

First cook your beef in a large saucepan or dutch oven over medium-high until browned.  Drain if necessary and return the meat to the pan.  Add the onion and garlic to the pan;  cook, stirring frequently for about 5 minutes.  Add tomatoes and remaining ingredients.  Simmer for at least 15 minutes.  Serve hot with sour cream with diced jalapeno on top.

The cornbread was easy.  Just follow the recipe on the back of your cornmeal and add diced jalapenos and maybe some cheddar cheese if you have some on hand!  It tastes great dipped in the chili.  Taylor said this was the best meal he has had an a while.  And I have to agree, it was pretty awesome.  Thanks Brian and Tamsen for joining us!

I hope this chili will help fuel Brian all the way to the finish line of the Boston Marathon on Monday.  I am guessing a personal record will be set!  Good luck!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to some tasty chili

  1. Julie says:

    Shut the front door, that sounds awesome! I LOVE mole. Will be making this soon.

  2. Kait Hurley says:

    LOVE parsnips! So good sliced really thin with olive oil, salt, and cumin. I bake them 350 for 45 minutes or so (until edges are brown) and they’re like parsnip chips. Oh, and thanks for posting the pizza recipe last night! I’m trying that tomorrow….only I’ll omit the anchovies because I’m not as gutsy. The midwest girl in me can’t be that exotic. Great blog!!

    • drealieberg says:

      Aren’t they the best! The pizza was to die for! I want to make it for Amy when she comes to visit. It tasted very French! Let me know how it turns out!

  3. Marcia says:

    Thanks for the tip on parsnips. I tried your chicken and leek dish the other night…so easy and scrumptious too! I’m now a big fan of leeks.

    • drealieberg says:

      So glad you tried the leek recipe! yum! Swing by the farm and grab some parsnips. I made some really good fries last night that are worth trying!

Leave a Reply

