my first day

My back hurts, I have blisters forming on my hands, and I am dead tired.  I guess today was my “real” first day back at the farm.  Nothing quite says welcome home like a sore back.

Taylor and I spent a few hours removing straw from the garlic.

I am still so happy the garlic grew! It feels just like yesterday we were planting it.

It’s amazing how much can change after a few months of being away.

And guess what else is amazing….

We stumbled upon some lonely leeks.  I was so excited I almost forgot about my sore back.  The leeks survived the winter and I wanted to celebrate.  Plus I knew once we were home we had the perfect remedy for sore muscles.  Beer.

Once our beers were opened I got to cooking.  Baked chicken and leeks with a honey mustard vinaigrette. I made the whole thing up as I went along so there is no “real” recipe.

We had leftover mashed parsnips from the other night that we served up along side a salad.  A great way to end a tough day on the farm.

For the chicken and leeks;

Preheat oven to 425

First trim roots and dark green tops from leeks.  Then cut them length wise in half.  Place in a baking dish along with 3 cloves of garlic minced.  Add two large chicken breasts to the pan.

Whisk together roughly 1 tbs honey, 1 tbs mustard, 2 tbs apple cider vinegar, 1/4 cup olive oil.  Pour evenly over the chicken and leeks.  Bake for 45 minutes.

Enjoy with a side salad and parsnips!

And now I am going to go join Henry.  He knows how to relax.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to my first day

  1. Leslie says:

    You should send this pic to LL Bean and maybe they will advertise on your site ! Henry is the best for advertising ! So sweet ! Enjoy a soak in a bubble bath and relax you deserve it. Also why did you remove the straw from the garlic? I have not grown that before and just was wondering why if you are not picking it as yet. Thanks !

    • drealieberg says:

      Ha! That is a great picture for an LL Bean ad!

      As for the garlic. There are many reasons why people leave the straw on. However, we remove the straw in the spring time so that the sun will heat up the dark soil. This in turn will promote faster growth. At this point in the season it is okay if there is another frost, it wont destroy the garlic. Also, our soil is likely to grow weeds even with the straw on, so we remove it so we can cultivate the soil. Hope that answers your question!

  2. what a great story of farm to table! 🙂

  3. Amy leclerc says:

    Love the improv dinner! Wish I could hire you as my personal chef…. Maybe next year! Xxoo

    • drealieberg says:

      I accept!!!!

      Wish you were here. Come soon and I will cook every meal for you. You can stay all summer! XO

  4. Ceci says:

    What a great dinner after a hard day! Very rewarding! And I hope you got that bubble bath soak.

    My mouth is watering! Garlic, leeks, honey mustard & even vinegar – I can taste it! Tell us how you made your parsnips. Is it easier than potatoes (that I can’t make to save my life)?

    • drealieberg says:

      The parsnips are easy!!! I boiled them and then threw them in a food processor with cream, garlic, salt, and fresh thyme. They tasted like mashed potatoes!

  5. Sue says:

    The dinner looks great!! I have the same question about why you removed the straw from the garlic!

  6. Marcia says:

    Your blog is awesome! I never miss a day. I live in Concord and buy my organic produce all season at Hutchins Farm Stand. Best produce around! I enjoy reading about the day to day work at the farm. It makes me appreciate the produce all the more. And thanks for sharing your inspired recipes! I seldom use leeks but your chicken and leeks dish sounds so simple to prepare that I’ll just have to give it a try.

    • drealieberg says:

      Thanks for reading along! You will have to introduce yourself this season if you ever see me in the farm stand. And swing by for some parsnips. Taylor and I harvested all of them today. They are for sale on the porch!

  7. Karen Anne says:

    Henry looks particularly nice. Did he just have a bath? It’s hard to believe he was out in the fields.

    • drealieberg says:

      He hasn’t had a bath, but a few swims in the river. He loves coming to work with us. Now I just have to teach him to do all the things I don’t like doing!

Leave a Reply

