stormy weather

It rained, it poured, and I transplanted scallions.

It was another full day in the greenhouse.  I have to say, it was nice not having to be in the eye of the storm.  Boy was it nasty out there.  But that doesn’t mean the day was easy.  Around 3 pm I had the honor of seeding basil for the first time. I was really excited at first, but one glance at the seeds and my excitement quickly turned to panic. Each seed looks like a grain of sand.  It was really hard keeping track and not overly seeding each try.  I started to worry that I was messing up.  My boss assured me I was doing a good job, but still.  Can you imagine…….no basil because of me.  I literally started sweating.  A summer without basil is like peanut butter without jelly.  It just doesn’t work.  Say a little prayer!

All of the stresses of the greenhouse ultimately took its toll on us all.  We are currently hanging out with Henry and relaxing.

There is no better way to wind down from a day at the farm than quality time with Henry.  Actually, a bowl of this helps too.

Turkey chili and homemade cornbread.  I followed my recipe for butternut squash chili but did not use any squash.  Enjoy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to stormy weather

  1. Sue says:

    Mmmm basil!! I love basil!! Please do put up photographs when your basil plants are ready to be harvested…! I can’t imagine a life without basil either (winter or summer).

Leave a Reply

