just in case…..

There was a rumor yesterday that we were due for a storm today.  I had a hard time believing it since it was gorgeous outside.  However, I am learning that it is always a good idea to be prepared for anything on the east coast.  And being prepared sometimes means getting into the kitchen and baking.

If we were going to be stuck inside because of bad weather I wanted to make sure we were well stocked in the pantry.

And this funny looking loaf of bread is not just any old loaf of bread.  It is oatmeal pumpkin bread. Basically, I made my pumpkin spice cookies into bread.  Just to feel healthier in the morning.  But really, there is not much of a difference between this bread and those amazing cookies.  The nice part about the bread is that it tastes awesome in the morning spread with almond butter.  The recipe is posted at the end of the blog.  Enjoy it!

On to other news, since it was SO nice outside yesterday we invited a few friends over for dinner.  Taylor cooked up burgers on the grill while I made us a nice side dish.  Pureed parsnips with cream and thyme.  They were really good and a nice side to Taylor’s cheese burgers.

Just boil these puppies until they are nice and tender.  Throw them in the food processor with cream, garlic, salt, and fresh thyme.  Easy!

If you can get your hands on some fresh parsnips I highly recommend it.  These were just what our deprived bodies needed. It has been too long since we have eaten something straight from the ground!

Alright, here is the recipe for the bread.  The major storm didn’t happen so we happily went to work instead of sitting inside all day and eating.  Enjoy.

Oatmeal Pumpkin spice bread

1 cup oats

1 cup milk (at room temp)

3/4 cup canned pumpkin

2 egg whites

1 egg

1/4 cup melted butter

1 tbs baking powder

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp salt

1 cup sugar

2 cups flour

1 tbs maple syrup

In a large bowl mix oat and milk.  Let it stand for a minute or two.

Beat in pumpkin eggs and butter and sugar

In another bowl mix together the flour, baking powder, salt and spices

Gradually stir into the pumpkin mixture until it is well combined.

Pour into a greased 9 by 5 inch baking loaf pan

Bake at 350 for 55-60 minutes.

Enjoy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to just in case…..

  1. Chuck Blickle says:

    Okay, Andrea…. I had lots of possibilities for you after high school but farming was not on the list. I was stringing folded paper cranes we are doing for a fundraiser for Japan and Mrs. Gianotti said we have a mutual friend–you! So I got the website and checked it out. Very proud of you as always… I will check from time to time on you. Congrats on married life… I’ll have to try it sometime….

    PS. Are you taking care of my guitar? It’s yours now and it is in a much better place wherever it is…. keep the peace… CB

    • drealieberg says:

      CHUCK!!!!

      I am so happy to hear from you! I almost swung by Central over the winter but it never happened. Next time I am home!

      I am still pinching myself that I have turned into a farmer. Who the heck would have guessed? Definitely not you or me! I am dirty all the time and loving it!

      By the way, your guitar has mostly been played by Taylor (my husband) he knows all about you and how special the guitar is.
      Hope all is well out west!
      XO

  2. Sue says:

    The mashed parsnips look great! Sort of like potatoes but not at all when you taste it!!

Leave a Reply

