maple almond butter

I love peanut butter, almond butter, cashew butter, and hazelnut spread.  I love every nut butter out there.  What I don’t love is the price tag on some of my favorite toast spreads.

So guess what I did….

I fixed the problem.  I bought a bulk bag of raw almonds.  I am going to get a lot more jars of almond butter out of one bulk bag of nuts.   And since we had maple syrup at home I decided to add that to the mix.  I love maple almond butter and today I created my own recipe.

Using 2 cups of raw almonds.

4 tablespoons of pure maple syrup.

1 teaspoon of sea salt

Mix the nuts and syrup and salt all together on a baking dish.  Place in a 325 degree oven and roast for 20 minutes.  Stirring once halfway through.

Let cool for about 10 minutes.

Place everything in a food processor and pulse.  Pulse for about 1 minute.  If the mixture is really dry add about 1 tablespoon of walnut oil.  Pulse for about 2-3 more minutes.  Stopping to scrape the sides down.  If mixture is still dry add a little more walnut oil.  Pulse again for about 1 more minute.  Scoop out and place in jars.  Enjoy!

Enjoy on toast, oatmeal, crackers, carrots, mixed with your hot chocolate.  It tastes good on anything.  Store in the refrigerator.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to maple almond butter

  1. Tam says:

    My family started making Maple Syrup last weekend!! We are headed up for some slave labor as Bri calls it this weekend!!! Wish you could be here to join us!!

  2. Leslie says:

    I never realized it was this easy !

Leave a Reply

