a sweet treat

Boy do I have the perfect dessert for you all this weekend.  This dessert can be enjoyed with a cup of coffee in the morning, as a late afternoon snack, or of course as an after dinner treat.  It will pretty much taste good any time of day and I highly recommend making these.

We are making carrot cake cookies!  With cream cheese frosting!  Yes and Yes!

Taylor and I are in love with anything carrot cake.  We even had carrot cake cupcakes as our wedding dessert.  Here is a fun fact.  The place we ordered our wedding cupcakes from is a little bakery called St. Cupcake.  A young couple opened St. Cupcake in the same building I used to work in giving facials.  When they first opened they were short staffed so in between facials I would go over and frost cupcakes for them.  I loved helping them out and the benefits were awesome.  I’ll gladly work for cupcakes!  If you are ever in Portland you should check them out.  Good people and great cupcakes.

Anyway, back to the cookies.  I actually only frosted half the cookies so some of them can be enjoyed for breakfast. However, who says you can’t eat a little frosting for breakfast?  You can definitely/should frost all of your cookies.  The cookies themselves are not extremely sweet so the frosting adds a nice touch.

Also, I had so much fun making these puppies because I did something I have yet to do while baking.  I made stuff up as I went along!  I have been so scared to get adventurous with baking and have strictly followed recipes.  However, with these guys I took a risk.  And it worked out really well.

I followed a few different carrot cake cookie recipes for measurements, but added raisins, coconut, crushed pecans, and lots of cinnamon to my recipe.  I also made up my own cream cheese frosting recipe.   So fun!

Here is what you will need for carrot cake cookies:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

1/2 cup butter softened

2 cups brown sugar

2 eggs

2 cups all purpose flour

1 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

2 tbs cinnamon

2 large carrots shredded (about 3/4 cup)

3/4 cup raisins

1/2 cup shredded coconut (i used sweetened coconut)

3/4 cup crushed pecans

1.  Grease your cookies sheets.

2. Cream together the butter and sugar.  Then beat in the eggs one at a time.  Stir in the carrots, raisins, and coconut.  Combined the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon; Stir in the carrots and crushed pecans.  Drop by rounded spoonfuls onto the cookie sheets.

3. Bake for 15-20 minutes in a 350 degree oven.

While the cookies are baking make your cream cheese frosting.

1. In a food processor cream together 8 ounces of cream cheese with 2 tablespoons honey, and 2 tablespoons of confectioners sugar.

When your cookies have cooled spread with the cream cheese frosting and sprinkle with cinnamon!  Enjoy!

Little bites of heaven.

Taylor and Henry gave the thumbs up!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

