fueled by organic vegetables

As I waited in the cold and the rain for the marathon to start I had one thing on my mind.

Boston.  The Boston marathon is special.  You have to be fast enough to qualify for it.  Apparently only 10 percent of runners are fast enough to qualify.   And yesterday morning that was my focus.  And hey, I had been eating organic veggies all year.  I was positive that was the trick!

Apparently organic veggies and lots of wine was the tick.  Because in 3 hours and 37 minutes I crossed the finish line with a fast enough time for the Boston marathon!

I love that guy in the air!

One of the greatest things about blogging is that it is like a semi personal journal.  And while I choose to share only some aspects of my life on here, this is one of the things that I am looking forward to reading again when I am old and gray.  I want to remember all the highlights of yesterday.  Like Taylor jumping in to run a couple of miles with me, and running through beautiful wine country, crossing the finish line with people who were strangers at first, but became close friends during the 26.2 miles that we ran together.  This is mainly a farming/food blog. But sometimes I like throwing in the random things we do.  And today I am glowing with this big accomplishment.  I am a little unsteady on my feet, and going from sitting to standing is somewhat of a challenge, but it feels pretty darn good all at the same time!  It’s the same kind of beat up feeling you get after a long day of farming.  And I like that.

We are off to enjoy wine country. Cheers!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to fueled by organic vegetables

  1. congrats, Andrea! Such a huge accomplishment; you should definitely feel very proud! I can’t imagine running 26.2 miles, especially under 4 hours! Enjoy treating yourself to some yummy wine:)

  2. natalie says:

    Woohoo! I’m ecstatic for you! Finishing a marathon–much less qualifying for Boston–is a bucket list item for so many people, and it’s amazing that you did it! Congrats! 🙂

  3. korinda says:

    WOW! Congratulations! (I’ve been waiting for the update since I got to work this morning!) Such an accomplishment – I bet those cold days farming really helped you get mentally prepared for such a long run!

  4. Dorothy says:

    Brava!

  5. Karen Anne says:

    Congratulations!

    What a huge accomplishment. By the way, I would do something to save your blog from time to time. It would be a shame if some hosting company going out of business lost it. I know I saw somewhere awhile ago a thing where you could have your blog automatically formatted into a book and printed off.

    I think you can download an entire blog and save it digitally as well, somehow or other.

  6. CONGRATS! Such a huge accomplishment!

  7. Carrie Link says:

    SUPER proud of you, Andrea!!!! I think it was/is the bacon.

  8. merry warner says:

    I’m glad to see that all the organic food did the trick. Congrats on your great success!

  9. Jim says:

    WAY TO GO, Girl! You need to get one of those “26.2” window stickers for your truck so the whole world will know you did it!

  10. liz says:

    Here’s to not peaking in high school or college. I have a feeling many of your blogger fans had checking in with you this a.m. at the top of their must do list. Your refreshing spirit and enthusiastic energy are contagious. Reading your blog sure beats reading the news. If there were more farmers and runners in the world we might be in a better lplace. Congratulations! Looking forward to hearing about the journey back east at the end of the month.

    You go girl!

  11. Julie says:

    SO proud of you! That is awesome! Wow, way to go! Looks like the weather was pretty miserable, so that makes your accomplishment even more amazing. I hope you ate a LOT of pizza afterwards 😉

  12. Ceci says:

    Congratulations! Well done! I think it was all the home made pizza!

  13. Catherine says:

    My dad ran Napa as his Boston qualifier, too. I can’t believe it was 20 years ago!!! Congratulations, Drea. You are an inspiration! (And I love that you gave props to the wine, too.)

  14. amy leclerc says:

    You should be tearing it up in Napa, cauz you deserve it! Way to go. I’m with lizzie-less news, more blogs.

    Enjoy your time down there with Taylor.

    XO

  15. Leslie says:

    Congrats !!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am soooooooo impressed !!!!!!!!!!!!!! On to Boston !!!!!!!!!!!!

  16. Liza says:

    AWESOME!!! you are amazing!!!

  17. Sue says:

    Congratulations to you!!! Hope you do run in the Boston marathon. This was your best post ever!!

  18. Jean says:

    Great news. What a fabulous accomplishment. I cannot imagine doing it. Those of us on the East coast will take up the flag and cheer you on all the way up Heartbreak Hill! (Great pic of the guy jumping – perfect expression)

  19. Pat Reichert says:

    Wow, Andrea!!!! Your Dad tells me you are quite the runner, and he’s right!! A marathon just boggles my mind. You are one special girl. Keep up the great work on the blog…..I really do enjoy it.

    Love, your Montana Aunt, Patty

    • drealieberg says:

      Pat,

      Thanks! It was really a hard race but I was so happy with my time and I had a great time meeting a ton of new people. Plus wine country is amazing! Not sure if you guys have made it down to the Napa/Sanoma area before but I highly recommend it! Beautiful!

      XO

Leave a Reply

