lovely leeks

I don’t know about everyone else, but I love leeks.  I feel like they can get overlooked a lot, so I want to change that.

Not only are they delicious, but they are beautiful.  I should have saved the tops to put in a vase for a center piece on the table.  Darn! Next time.

Anyway, last night I decided to cook dinner up for my family.  They all worked hard yesterday and I wanted them to come home to a warm house with delicious smells coming from the kitchen.  (Who doesn’t love walking into a house like that?)

I flipped through a magazine my mom has called Eating Well.  It is full of healthy recipes that all sound fairly easy.   You should check out eatingwell.com for more recipes from past issues.  Anyway, when I flipped to the page that featured “chicken with creamy braised leeks”  I knew this is what I wanted to make.  Braised leeks are SO tender and delicious I knew this recipe would be a home-run.   So I began prepping.

Obviously no great recipe is complete without garlic.  You should always have garlic handy in your kitchen.  I use it everyday.

the recipe for Chicken with Creamy Braised Leeks is really easy and takes a total of 1 1/2 hours.  But only 30 minutes of that time is actual active time.  And if you are like me you need a few side dishes.  I used the time the chicken and leeks were cooking to whip up some side dishes.  Pureed carrots in cream and butter, and a lovely salad with pickled beets (from our wedding!)

This was an arugula salad with the beets and avocado.  So good!

And the final plate.

The highlight of this meal for me was the leeks.  They turned out SO well and I highly recommend trying this recipe.

Henry was jealous.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to lovely leeks

  1. Sue says:

    Thanks for the recipe. And they look so great!

  2. Jean says:

    Love leeks, too. Thanks for the idea. Sounds delicious. You can also tuck the tough green part into your freezer pending a batch of chicken stock.

    Henry really looks great. Must be all that love and care he gets.

    • drealieberg says:

      Thanks for the chicken stock idea.

      Henry has gained 15 lbs since we got him!!! he is almost at his goal weight!

  3. Linda says:

    Andrea, I tried the caramelized onion and bacon risotto. Delicious and easy!!! Since I was cooking up bacon and I had some baby bok choy that I wasn’t sure how to cook, I found this recipe and have to say it was excellent.
    Here’s a link:
    http://allrecipes.com//Recipe/bacon-y-bok-choy/Detail.aspx
    It has quite a punch to it! I didn’t realize how quickly bok choy cooks up. I have only eaten it in Chinese food. Yum!
    Come visit next time you are in town.

    • drealieberg says:

      Wasn’t it awesome!!! thanks for the bok choy link. We will try this when we get back from CA. We for sure need to stop by and see you guys!

  4. Dorothy says:

    So many great ideas in this post and in the comments! Great recipe, terrific idea re using the greens as (a) a centerpiece on the dining table, or (6) freezing for inclusion in a chicken stock.
    Excellent link to http://www.eatingwell.com, which I visited right away – If you sign up on eatingwell.com (for free!) you can create a little online recipe file – Just click on the featured recipes you like, and you’ll have them handy for future reference. Cool.
    Your recipe for chicken & leeks looks delicious and so easy; one variation comes to mind – For a low-fat alternative, you could use yogurt instead of cream (still rich, and a bit tangy). What do you think?

    • drealieberg says:

      Yogurt would be a great alteration. However, I love the full fat yogurt which is almost as fattening as the cream. But, it is a great idea and I think would work beautifully with this recipe. Let me know if you try it!!

  5. Dorothy says:

    Forgot to mention – LOVE the photos of Henry in the kitchen! He’s healthy, happy and well-loved. Thanks for keeping him in the picture!

  6. korinda says:

    Can’t WAIT to try those leeks!

  7. kas says:

    That’s how you stay so tiny: run 18 miles and eat small portions. I need to start mimicking your lifestyle.

    ps – I never grow tired of seeing pictures of Henry’s precious face.

Leave a Reply

