snow day

We woke up to a blanket of snow in Hood River.

Henry is extremely happy about it.  Me, not so much.  I was going to do a long run this morning but instead I am currently drinking coffee and eating carrot cake oatmeal.

I guess I can carbo-load for a day of baking.  Who needs to go for a run when there is bread that needs kneading?! It’s a workout being in the kitchen.

Speaking of workouts and being in the kitchen, I had to fuel two hungry guys before a big day of skiing. My brother-in-law is in town to ski with Taylor and last night I wanted to feed them extra food so they were ready to tackle a full day on Mt. Hood.

Since I know these two boys extremely well, I was ready to cook what they love.  And they both love their chicken.  They actually like it fried, but I took a healthier route and baked up some chicken thighs.   I baked the chicken thighs in the same marinade from the other night.  Which is a simple mustard, honey, lemon juice, and olive oil all whisked together.  It is really good!  I also roasted some sliced sweet potatoes and asparagus.  And for an extremely healthy meal, these guys gave me two thumbs up.  They may seem like tough men, but watching them eat sweet potatoes really softens them up!

I baked the sweet potatoes and asparagus in olive oil, cayenne powder, and a hint of chili powder.  All mixed together.  They baked in a 400 degree oven for 45 minutes.  Along with the chicken thighs.

A good meal to make for two hungry guys.

I am off to knead some dough.  I love homemade bread more than anything!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to snow day

  1. amy leclerc says:

    Wish I had been there. Looks delish…

  2. Trish says:

    Henry looks very dignified there. He reminds me of my darling Mookie, whose father was a black lab and whose mother was a white german shepherd. Mookie looked alot like Henry, with his handsomeness and dignity. Mookie has since moved to greener pastures, but I still have Rex, Saffron, Dezi and the Hound Dog to keep me company. All strays and all wunnerful

Leave a Reply

