I confess………

I sort of miss waking up at 5 a.m. to take Henry out and then head up to the farm.

Sleepy eyed and a little out of it I love taking that first sip of coffee.  It helps get me through a long day in the fields.  Even if that coffee comes from an unhealthy chain.  I miss Dunkin Donuts, what can I say!

In a strange way, I miss dirt under my finger nails, knots in my hair, and sore muscles.  I even miss the blood, the tears, and the meltdowns that happen while staking tomatoes in 100 degree weather.  (Maybe I don’t miss the tomatoes.  It’s been too long, but I’m pretty sure I don’t miss that.)

I miss eating 5 star meals every night.

I sort of miss the ugly rain gear, the big hat, and the smell of my hands after harvesting scallions.  Better than any perfume on the market.

I do NOT miss driving that van down Route 2.

Or this…….. Numb fingers, toes, nose, ears, mouth, head, arms, legs……..

But I do love looking up from whatever I’m doing to see Taylor drive by on a tractor.  It’s nothing magnificent, but I love it.

And I love sharing the farm with my family when they visit.  Nothing says “welcome” quite like getting everyone’s hands a little dirty on their vacation.

One more month of freedom, and then we are back to growing food.  I can’t tell if I am ready, scared, excited, or what, but it’s right around the corner.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I confess………

  1. Ceci says:

    Sometimes, home is where your heart is & it sounds like you found a new home in Mass.! Are you still working in Thoreau’s house’? We never hear about that part of your adventure.

  2. RI Reader says:

    Maybe the Hutchins Farm website can can add a link to your website . Your post today was a love song to summer, locally grown produce, and Hutchins farm. And, of course, Taylor.

  3. Julie says:

    There’s something about a man on a tractor… 😉

  4. Julie says:

    Just saw your comment about Snowmass from last week. WOW I had no idea you lived there! LOVE Snowmass, not so crazy about Ajax. Tasters? I’ll have to look for that one…we stop at Goodfellows in Snowmass Village after skiing.

    • drealieberg says:

      I loved eating pizza from Goodfellows!!! However, Tasters holds a special place in my heart. Get the bbq chicken pizza. You will die!! It’s an old joint, nothing fancy, but the perfect post skiing spot! let me know if you check it out!

Leave a Reply

