comfort food

Last night’s dinner felt like one giant hug.  It was warm, comforting, and delicious.  It has been a little chilly here in Hood River and this meal warmed Taylor and me right up.

The highlight of the meal was the carrots.  Which were pureed with butter and cream.

I had carrots on the brain because of a few work dreams I’ve had recently.  Remember all of these?  Crates of carrots bigger than me.  My arms hurt just looking at them.

Hundreds of pounds of carrots.  I need to do more push-ups before heading east next month.  I’m still not sure how I carried those crates!

Anyway, back to our dinner.  Last night we enjoyed two chicken thighs that I baked in a simple homemade sauce.  I whisked together some honey, mustard, lemon juice, and a little olive oil.  I poured a little of the sauce over the chicken thighs with some salt and pepper and baked in a 400 degree oven for 45 minutes.  I reserved some of the sauce to pour over the chicken when it was ready to serve.

Meanwhile, while the chicken was baking I boiled some carrots.  Once they were soft (easy to pierce with a fork) I strained them and put them in the food processor with about 2 tbs of butter and a sprinkle of heavy cream.  Then I blended until they were light and fluffy.  Like mashed potatoes!

We enjoyed our dinner with a spinach salad and glass of wine.  The perfect meal to warm up with.

I suggest making this tonight! Enjoy.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to comfort food

  1. Julie says:

    I thought about you guys this weekend when I made some whole wheat deep dish pizza dough and topped it with… a mix of tomato sauce and pesto sauce, bacon, blue cheese, spinach and broccoli! Oh, and some red pepper flakes and mozzarella. Seriously killer pizza!

    Those “mashed” carrots look awesome.

    • drealieberg says:

      yum! your pizza sounds AWESOME! where did you get your pizza dough recipe? would love to try it!

      btw, the carrots were so good we made them again last night! Try them out!

  2. Julie says:

    The recipe is in my breadmaker cookbook. I’ll post it on here tonight or tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

