getting my grill on

Okay, I normally leave the “real” grilling to Taylor.  He knows what he’s doing with a bag of charcoal and some lighter fluid.  I however, like most of my cooking to be done in the comfort of a kitchen, not outside with a headlamp and match.

this is the size of grill you own when you move twice a year.

Anyway, believe it or not, after consuming about 100 peanut butter cups yesterday I still had peanut butter on the brain.

But a regular old peanut butter sandwich was not going to cut it.  I needed more.  After looking through the pantry (we really need to go grocery shopping) I had an idea.  How about a grilled peanut butter, honey, and banana sandwich? Yes please!

Everything about this sandwich makes sense.  With every bite a little peanut butter oozed onto the plate.  Deliciously rich, warm, creamy, and comforting.  Just what a girl needs on  a rainy Oregon day.

Here is all you need for this amazing grilled sandwich (no grill involved!)

2 pieces of bread (Dave’s Killer bread for me)

2 tbs of peanut butter (spread evenly on both slices of bread)

1 tbs of honey (spread on one slice of bread)

1/2 banana.  (sliced into 1/2 inch rounds)

cooking spray

Arrange your sandwich like-so.

Spray a large skillet with cooking spray and turn to medium high.  Cook your sandwich about 2 minutes per side.  That’s it!

And you should probably have one of these for dessert:

Why the heck not?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to getting my grill on

  1. Karen Anne says:

    That reminded me of having read about Elvis Presley’s Grilled Peanut Butter
    and Banana Sandwich. I’ll bet he would have added honey if he’d thought of it.

    http://splendidtable.publicradio.org/recipes/main_pbsand.html

    I’ve never made a grilled sandwich with anything but cheese. Now I am speculating about what I can grill up as a sandwich with the bananas and whatever else is in the kitchen.

  2. Sue says:

    Wow, so simple yet so good! I am impressed! Yes, I was reminded of the fact that Elvis Presley liked peanut butter with banana grilled sandwiches too…

  3. Sue says:

    Wow, so simple yet so good! I am impressed!

  4. Sue says:

    I don’t know how I posted twice. Got some error message ‘Duplicate message detected’ or something, so I thought I hadn’t posted. Ah well…

  5. beckyruns says:

    Adam’s is the BEST – I discovered it when I spent a summer in Oregon…I became obsessed, and I don’t even LIKE peanut butter very much!! It makes me really happy to see it on here!

    • drealieberg says:

      It is really good peanut butter! What were you doing in Oregon in the summer? and where in Oregon? you should make one of these sandwiches today!!! Good fuel for a running girl!

Leave a Reply

