a little more love

Because it’s Valentines day, (and everyone knows you need to consume chocolate on this lovely holiday) I thought I would share with you all what we are currently nibbling on.

Better than a Reese’s….

Homemade peanut butter cups! Yes, these little guys are rich, creamy, and totally satisfying.  Just one, and you will happily be in sugar heaven.

I have to admit, I am a lover of Reese’s peanut butter cups.  They have been my favorite candy since I was a child.  And as the years have passed, I still get excited every holiday when Reese’s comes out with their holiday shaped peanut butter cups.  Taylor always picks me up an egg, a pumpkin, a tree, or a heart shaped Reese’s during the holidays.  They always put a smile on my face and a spring to my step after consuming one.

But this holiday season, we have passed on the Reese’s heart and decided to make our own.  Okay, they aren’t in a heart shape, but they get the job done.  So sweet and satisfying.   And get this, you don’t even need to turn the oven on!  No baking involved.  Now this is my kind of dessert!

Here is what you will need for homemade peanut butter cups.

1 package semi sweet chocolate chips

3/4 cups creamy peanut butter (you could use crunchy if you would like, or almond butter)

3/4 cup powdered sugar

2 tbs melted butter

mini cupcake tins and paper liners

First melt your bag of chocolate over low heat in a small pot.  Stir constantly until melted (make sure not to burn the chocolate!)

Then with a small spoon pour a little chocolate into each muffin cup.  about 1 ts.  Just enough to coat the bottom.  Then place the chocolate lined muffin tins in the freezer for about 10-15 minutes until they have cooled and settled.

Meanwhile, combine your butter, peanut butter, and sugar.  Stir.  It will feel more like a dough.

Then take out your chocolate lined cups and put about 1 tsp of peanut butter in each cup.

Pour the rest of the chocolate on top of the peanut butter.  Enough to seal the edges.  Chill in the freezer for about 20 minutes and enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to a little more love

  1. Liza says:

    um, hello lovelies….

    you need to make these this spring for me. i am not sure i could possibly love you any more, but i might if you made these….

  2. amy leclerc says:

    Y.U.M. Can you make some of those for Jolie’s Shower????! xoxo

  3. Ceci says:

    Ya know…
    They look awsome! I bet they are SOOOO yummy…
    But I am recovering from a chocolatastrophy from this weekend. I tried to make cake balls…and the chocolate seized (F bomb central). Maybe it was the chocolate or maybe it was the balls. I don’t know, but I may not be ready to try melted chocolate again…but your peanutbutter cups look sooooo good! YUM! a sucessful chocolatey finish!

    • drealieberg says:

      There is NO way that same thing would not have happened to me. Too much can go wrong with cake balls! Stick to something that doesn’t require dough or an oven! Did you at least get a good batter to lick?

      • Ceci says:

        Believe it or not we actually ate cake balls. The cake is actually cooked & you just add frosting, make little balls then dip them. Easy as that! I think what happened was a drop of water. BUT STILL!!! It was sooo frustrating! (teehee – have to laugh now)

  4. Aaaa, saw these too late, otherwise I would have made these last night! Delicious! Also, I wanted to let you know I linked to your blog on my blog post today! I made your puff pastry pizza last night and linked to your recipe and blog – it’s our favorite dinner!

    http://www.youstirme.com/2011/02/bacon-and-brownie-hearts.html

    Enjoy the rest of the honeymoon!

Leave a Reply

