polenta pizza

I am really enjoying all the time we have been spending up on Mt. Hood.  Yesterday was filled with a snowshoe around the mountain followed by some evening skiing.

Blue skies!

I am also really getting into this whole skiing thing.  Maybe the winter Olympics are in my future!

In case you were impressed, that is not me.  Unlike Taylor I was not born to ski.  He floats on the snow, while I am definitely a work in progress.

However, the one thing about skiing that is true for both of us, is that we crave junk food after a day on the mountain.  Nachos, greasy burgers, pizza you name it.  It’s cold up there and nothing sounds better than something warm and heavy.  But last night when we stormed through the door ravenous, I wasn’t going to let our unhealthy cravings lead us to the burger shop down the street.  So I decided to pull out the big guns:

We can have our cake and eat it too.  Polenta pizza was on the menu.  This was extremely easy, healthy, and totally knocked those unhealthy cravings out the door.

Cheesy goodness in every bite.

Our pizza was topped with onion, garlic, zucchini, bell peppers, sliced potatoes, and tomatoes. With a few handfuls of pepper jack cheese.  Perfection! And a side of spinach.  Doesn’t get much better than this.

Here is what you will need to do for the crust:

1 1/2 cups cornmeal

1 tsp salt

1 1/2 cups cold water

2 cups boiling water

1 tbs olive oil

Combine cornmeal, salt, and cold water in bowl.  Mix together and then add it to the 2 cups of boiling water on the stove top.  Whisk together.  Cook for about 10 minutes  over low heat, stirring frequently.  (It will get very thick)  Remove it from the heat and let it stand until it cools enough for you to handle.

Preheat your oven to 375. Oil a 10-inch pie pan.  Add the polenta and smooth it out in the pan.  Sprinkle the top with a little olive oil.  Pop it in the oven for 45 minutes.

While the crust is cooking begin sauteing up your veggies.  I used some olive oil and began with 4 gloves of garlic and 1 small chopped onion.  (Feel free to use any veggie combination you like) I sauteed them for about 5 minutes before adding the thinly sliced potatoes.  I cooked for about 5 more minutes over medium heat before adding the sliced peppers and zucchini.  I continued to saute for about 10 more minutes.  Once they were cooked through I removed from the heat.  I then sliced up the tomatoes.

By the time I was done with my veggies the timer to the oven went off.  I removed the crust, cranked the oven temp to broil.  I shredded up about 1 cup of pepper jack cheese.  Sprinkled about half the cheese on the crust, added the tomatoes, and then the rest of the veggies.  I topped everything with the remainder of the cheese.

Pop it all back in the oven for 5 more minutes.  Serve hot!

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to polenta pizza

  1. Sue says:

    Maybe food photography is also in your future? I am impressed with the photos of the dishes…whoever takes the pictures knows what she/he is doing…. 🙂

    The polenta pizza sounds intriguing..

    • drealieberg says:

      Ha! I am still getting used to the camera. It all depends on the lighting! But thanks for the compliment!

      This pizza was really good. Different, but in a good way.

  2. Trish says:

    this does sound intriguing, and healthy. what was the crust like? crunchy? thick? did it give the pizza a corny note (no pun intended). would it work with a tomato based sauce?

    • drealieberg says:

      It was like a deep dish pizza. Nice and thick. There was not much of a corny flavor. And this pizza would work awesome with a tomato based sauce. Anyway you would eat a regular pizza would work. It was a great alternative to pizza dough. have fun and let me know if you try this crust!

Leave a Reply

