hummus

Last night Taylor and I were feeling like eating something light.  He has been reading a great farming book called “The New Organic Grower” and I just finished flipping through a new cookbook called “Good Food Great Medicine.” Naturally, both of our books got us craving something light and healthy.

This cookbook is amazing.  Filled with a ton of wonderful recipes along with the nutritional value of everything.  I had fun flipping through it yesterday.  And one of the best things about this cookbook is everything sounds super easy.  I stumbled upon so many recipes that would normally intimidate me but they were broken down and seemed very doable.  Thanks for the cookbook Liz! I love it.

So after a day of hiking around here:

I couldn’t wait to come home and try something from my new cookbook.  Hummus anyone? I am not going to lie, I have never made hummus before.  I was really lucky last summer to work the Belmont Farmers Market next to my friend and hummus hero Ragab.  There was never any need to bust out the food processor and make my own.  However, Ragab is far away in Massachusetts and I was craving hummus.  So what did I do?  I rolled up my sleeves and broke out our new food processor.  And literally 10 minutes later we were enjoying hummus!

I think food processors are like magic.  Really, you press a button and a masterpiece is born. Love it.  We enjoyed our hummus on whole wheat pita bread with onions, spinach, tomatoes, cucumbers, and carrots.  With a side salad.

I really loved this hummus.  It was really creamy which is the way I like my hummus to be.  To die for.

I also made a simple spinach salad with an amazing vinaigrette dressing from the same cookbook.  A very well balanced and healthy meal.  Just what we needed.

By now I know you are all waiting for these amazing recipes so here we go.

Hasty, Tasty Hummus (makes about 2 1/2 cups)

1 can chickepeas

1/4 cup lemon juice

1/4 cup tahini

1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil

1 tablespoon crushed garlic

1/2 tsp. salt

1/8 tsp ground cumin

1/4 cup boiling water

1. Drain chickpeas.  Combine chickpeas with all ingredients except the water in a food processor and blend  until smooth.

2. With the processor running, pour in the boiling water.  The texture should be thick but creamy and pourable.  Taste and adjust the flavor to suit yourself.  Enjoy!

Alright, now onto the vinaigrette.  I am going to add that I never buy salad dressing.  It seems like a waste of money on top of the fact that they are always filled with unnecessary ingredients.  You can easily whip up a homemade dressing in no time.  And you are in complete control of what goes into it.  This is the first time I have ever followed a salad dressing recipe, but I thought it would be nice to see what the actual measurements of a good dressing are.  So here we go:

Garlic and mustard vinaigrette:

1/4 cup apple cider vinegar

1 tbs freshly crushed garlic

1 tbs whole grain mustard

1 tbs honey

1 tsp salt

1 tsp freshly ground pepper

3/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil.

1. Combine all ingredients except olive oil in a 2-cup measuring jug and whisk thoroughly

2. slowly add the oil in a thin stream, whisking steadily.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to hummus

  1. Sue says:

    Yum, looks delicious!!

  2. Julie says:

    I definitely need to try that hummus recipe. Yum o!

  3. korinda says:

    I think I have the exact same food processor as you…it’s a great one! I’ve been able to do all kinds of things with it!

  4. Carrie Link says:

    Would that be the same food processor your dad and Gary bought?

Leave a Reply

