alive!

Sorry about the unexpected leave of absence!  This past weekend really got away from me.  However, I am back.  Not only am I back but I am armed with beets!

 

I was really missing my favorite root vegetable and needed a little love.  Plus I ran 18 miles yesterday and I needed some healthy fuel to revive my body.  So after a quick trip to the store I was ready to take action in the kitchen.  On the menu, wonton filled beets with a side salad.

The picture doesn’t do this dish any justice.  It was really tasty.

First up, I boiled my beets for about 45 minutes.  Just until they were soft and tender.  I then threw them in a food processor with a little blue cheese, goat cheese, sea salt, and drizzle of olive oil.

So pretty!

I then filled each wonton wrapper (available at most grocery stores) with the mixture.  Pinched the edges and began to fry in water and olive oil.

These puppies fried up pretty quickly.  They were messy, but really good.

We sprinkled the wontons with some toasted pecans and parmesan cheese.  With a simple spinach salad.  Yum! Enjoy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to alive!

  1. Dorothy says:

    Glad you’re having such a wonderful time. Intrigued by your beet wonton recipe, but puzzled by one phrase: “fried in water and olive oil” Maybe it’s just a slip of the keypad, but if not, could you explain that?
    BTW, we made your mediterranean lentil soup last weekend – fantastic!!!

    • drealieberg says:

      Hi Dorthy,

      this recipe was really tasty. And yes, I actually fried them in water and olive oil. I used about 1 tbs of water and 1 tbs of oil. That is what was recommended to do on the wonton package. You can also cover the pan and they fry up faster. Really easy, but messy!!!! Enjoy!

      • Dorothy says:

        That’s interesting. Thanks!
        Oh, FYI, you might want to try a variation on your hummus recipe – skip the boiling water, and instead just trickle more olive oil – slowly – into the food processor.
        This gives it a richer, creamier texture.
        You can also do it all in a blender, very fast & easy.
        Your cookbooks sound fantastic! Thanks for lovely postings!

  2. Sue says:

    Maybe the water and olive oil is because they don’t stick together when they boil?

  3. Carrie Link says:

    Um, anyone that ran 18 miles sure as hell better have a larger portion!

Leave a Reply

