a baker in the dell

So you all know how much I love baking.  Not much at all! The whole process is a bit of a pain.  Between the measuring cups, the finger licking, and the major sugar crash I just don’t think it’s worth it.  However, after our 14 mile run I was feeling like some sugar.  Specifically sugar in the form of a  pumpkin spice latte from my favorite chain.  But then it occurred to me………pumpkin spice lattes are out of season now.  The horror!  I was so upset because at mile 13 of our run we ran right by a Starbucks and I thought to myself  “ha I will see you in a few hours” I was practically hallucinating pumpkin spice lattes the whole run.  So what does one do at a time like this? Bake I guess.  And what does one bake? Pumpkin spice cookies, with a side of black coffee of course.

Since I am not a natural-born baker and don’t have hundreds of recipes at the top of my head, I turn to the internet at times like these.  And thanks to allrecipes.com I am currently nibbling on some delicious pumpkin cookies.  And I have pictures to prove it!  I even managed to crack an egg without getting the shell in the dough.  That’s a first!

I followed the recipe exactly.  I have been lectured many times that I can’t just eyeball the ingredients.   However, since I was feeling rebellious, I omitted the raisins from the original recipe.  No one told me I can’t do that.

After eating about a pound of cookie dough I was ready to pop everything into the oven.  That is, what was left of the dough.  And no lectures about salmonella.  I know ….I know…

These cookies are SO good.  Better than a pumpkin spice latte.  Since I am not ready to admit pumpkin season is over, I will happily indulge in these cookies all winter!

Pumpkin spice cookie with a side of black coffee is pretty much heaven in my book.  Now I am just waiting for my sugar crash.  Enjoy the recipe here.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to a baker in the dell

  1. Leslie says:

    We are living proof ! Our whole family has been eating choc. chip cookie dough forever. Just can’t resist it ! Actually it is better than the cookies ! So yes, again you are in very good company ! Yum !!!!!!!!!!

  2. korinda says:

    How did you like Bob’s Red Mill flour? I’ve been thinking of doing a taste/texture test between this one and King Arthur. I have a challenge for you: Learn to crack an egg without leaving any eggshell behind with just one hand. I once saw a chef do it over and over and I became obsessed with trying it everytime I crack an egg!

    I really like how these cookies look – not perfectly rounded and they have little peaks in them. This will be my next batch!

    • drealieberg says:

      I can barely crack an egg with two hands!!! this challenge seems impossible! But a fun way to goof around. So I will try it next time.
      I loved the Bob’s Red Mill flour. We have white and wheat. I used the white flour in this recipe but have used the wheat in another recipe before and they are both good. I like your taste/texture test idea.

      Have fun making these cookies. I am enjoying one right now for breakfast with a cup of coffee. yummmy

  3. Karen Anne says:

    Um, you crack the eggs into a separate little bowl first, right 🙂

    • drealieberg says:

      I hate extra dishes!!!!! I know I know, I’d rather dig out egg shell for 10 minutes than spend 1 minute washing an extra dish!

      • Julie says:

        Yes but you should also crack into a separate bowl just in case you have a bad egg. Nothing worse than ruining a whole recipe because of one bad egg…which rarely happens anymore, but it’s been stamped on my brain by my mother…

  4. Ceci says:

    Mmmmm… I’m baking blueberry muffin’s tonight.. maybe with a side of pumpkin spice cookie! That sounds sooo good right now – with snow on the horizon in DC.

    Karen Anne, that’s a good idea! They do it all the time on TV & yet we never crack eggs into small bowls when we cook. I’m gonna do it!

    • drealieberg says:

      Try these cookies. SO good! Blueberry muffins sound pretty darn tasty as well. Let me know how they turned out.

    • Karen Anne says:

      (Not for the faint of heart):

      Ceci, I have thought before that it may hark back to when eggs weren’t candled or something. Besides shells, the previous generation might find, ah, some poor not yet a critter. Just my guess, tho.

      • Ceci says:

        OMG! You got a faint heart here…I don’t know what I would do! I’m guessing you would find me on the floor. I will ALWAYS use a little bowl now!

        Hint: Harris Teeter sells little desserts (tiramisu to be exact) in small glass bowls…perfect!

  5. Maura says:

    Hi, I’ve been following your blog – love it! Here is a link to a song called January Wedding by the Avett brothers – thought you might like it since you are getting married in January!
    http://www.songlyrics.com/the-avett-brothers/january-wedding-lyrics/

    • drealieberg says:

      Ahhh, thank you! I love this song! My friends emailed me this same link a while ago after we got engaged. I love it! Thanks for reading along

  6. Karen Anne says:

    Between Julie and me, I’m wondering what went on with eggs used by the previous generation of humans. My Mom and Grandmom always used a separate little dish to break eggs into.

    Then again, I can remember my Mom having to stir yellow food coloring into margarine because it was illegal to sell it already colored, thanks to the butter lobby.

Leave a Reply

