a fun challenge

Most of you know me as a farm girl who loves to cook.  And that is true, but there is another part of me that you don’t know about.  For five years I gave facials for a living.  The best part of the job was that I could work anywhere in the country.  Taylor and I love moving around so it was easy to find work wherever we ended up.  However, giving facials was not something that I found fulfilling.  It was a nice paycheck but that was about it.  When we moved to Bend, Oregon 3 years ago I found work at a salon that I was completely miserable at.  I needed the job so I stuck it out.  However, since I was unfulfilled with my work I knew I had to do something that gave me a purpose.  Both of my grandmothers had recently passed away which was pretty devastating for me.  So I decided I should give back to the elderly community.  I began volunteering every week at a retirement home.  It turned out to be the best thing I could have done.  I gave hand and arm massages to the residents, played cards, went on field trips, and called bingo.  In turn I ended up with about 20 grandparents.  And let me tell you, you can never have too many grandparents!  When we moved from Bend to Massachusetts the hardest part was leaving  the retirement home.  However, thanks to my mom and her 1st grade students I will be able to give back to one of their favorite grandparents.  Jean is a 93 year-old man who is part of my mom’s school community.  He is basically a second grandparent to all the students at my mom’s school.  Every Wednesday my mom and two of her 1st graders eat lunch with Jean.  He lives right next door to the school so it is an easy walk over to his house.  And starting next Wednesday I will join in on all the fun.  However, my job will be to prepare lunch for us.   As most of you know I love cooking food.  But lunch is not my specialty.  However, it will be a fun challenge and I am so excited to get to know Jean and do what I love most, share a meal with others.

This entry was posted in Random Goodness!. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to a fun challenge

  1. Sue says:

    Sounds like a lot of fun to prepare lunch. Is this a weekly event? The picture on the right bottom of the blog page – is that of the same lunch? Good luck!!

  2. Sue says:

    Ah, you did say it is a weekly (Wednesday) event…sorry I overlooked that.

  3. Carrie says:

    Gene’s a lucky man!

Leave a Reply

