i heart oregon

Sorry for the delayed post.  The last two days on the road were pretty intense with bad weather and negative temperatures.  However, we made it to Oregon safe and sound and it feels so good to be here.

I miss big pine trees and wide open space on the east coast.  Everything here feels so open and big.  I love it!

But let me back this up…..the night before we hit the road from Denver, we made a delicious butternut squash and broccoli pizza for new years dinner.  It was AMAZING and I think I will make this version for my family later this week.  It was simple but so tasty.

Thanks to Taylor I didn’t have to risk cutting off an arm while dicing up the butternut.  It helps to have a man in the house when you are cooking with winter squash.

I first cooked the squash in boiling water for about 10 minutes (just until it’s easily pierced with a fork)  Then I blended it with a handful of fresh sage and a little bit of heavy cream.  And spread it on a premade crust.

Then we sautéed up the broccoli in a little olive oil until it was nice and browned.  We put everything on the dough with some parmesan cheese, mozzarella cheese, and dried rosemary.

And 15 minutes later this beauty came out of the oven.  What a great combination.  The sage, squash and broccoli worked really well together.  I highly recommend this easy recipe!

With full bellies and a good nights sleep behind us, we hit the road bright and early.  Continuing our journey west we drove through Wyoming which is such a beautiful state.  Taylor and I began fantasizing about moving to Wyoming to become cattle ranchers.  You never know!

Population 1?  Maybe we can make that population 3 with our cattle ranch.

We listened to a new book on tape which I highly recommend.  John Krakauer’s “Where Men Win Glory”  Listening to books on tape make for a fun road trip.

After logging over 800 miles we decided to grab a motel instead of sleeping in the back of the car.  With temperatures creeping to negative 10 degrees a motel was a warm welcome.

And yesterday we gave it one last big push and arrived safely in Oregon.  We can kiss the open road goodbye for a couple of months and settle into our lives in Oregon for a while.  Yeehaw!

This entry was posted in Adventures. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to i heart oregon

  1. Leslie says:

    Happy New Year from North Carolina ! So glad you made it safe and sound. Enjoy your time with family. I have not been to Oregon yet, so looking forward to you pics. I have been to California, but have heard that Oregon is so beautiful ! Is Oregon know for a special dish, seafood maybe ? Best wishes for 2011 !

  2. Julie says:

    Glad you guys made it safe and sound! Even more glad that you got a motel room for a night! Have a great 3 months off 🙂

  3. Sue says:

    Congratulations on reaching Oregon! Good that you got a motel room! 🙂

  4. Happy New Year!! I live & work in New Smyrna Beach, Florida…and I am not exactly sure why, but since I read the article about the Emerson House in the NYT, your blog has become a sort of addiction…I check almost daily…sort of an anchor to the simple, very distanct past…how can two very young people be living this life in this techno-celeb obsessed world???

    • drealieberg says:

      Thanks for reading along! I have really enjoyed taking on the roll of farming and caretaking. Hard work, good food, and a wonderful partner to do it all with is what makes my life so wonderful. Simplicity is the best!

  5. sundya says:

    I’m glad you stayed in a motel and made it safely to Oregon! The pizza looks delicious!!

  6. Ceci says:

    I was wondering if you were going to sleep in the truck every night when it’s sooo cold out! I hope you had a good hot soak when you got to the motel! These pictures are beautiful! I remember driving cross country every summer when I was little. We had so much fun.

    Have a great time!

Leave a Reply

