a case of the monday’s

This morning was pretty dark outside.  I felt like the weekend went by way too fast and I didn’t get anything done.  (Except for an awesome trip to New Hampshire)  But that doesn’t mean that the laundry got done, the dishes ran, or that the house vacuumed itself.  And since it has begun to spit snow outside I thought my efforts would be more useful at home rather than high up in an apple tree.  That’s the great thing about the “off-season” I can make my own schedule.  So today I stayed home.  And after checking a few necessary things off my list, I decided to tackle something scary and new.  Pumpkin bread.  Yep, you heard me, pumpkin bread is scary.  It involves measuring cups (which I had to dig out from the deepest corner of a kitchen drawer) and cracking eggs (which if I crack it, you are guaranteed a piece of shell with every bite)  So in other words, this is a big step for me.  But I do like a challenge.  So bring on the pumpkin bread.  And thanks to a reader all the way from Michigan, I am armed and dangerous with measuring cups, eggs, and a tasty sounding recipe.  Thank you John!

The recipe “all-american pumpkin bread” had an interesting ingredient involved that made me nervous.  Wild rice.  That’s another thing, I burn rice.  But I really wanted some pumpkin bread, so I rolled up my sleeves and got busy in the kitchen.

The hardest thing about baking is resisting the urge to add a little something here, or a little something there. When I cook I eyeball everything.  I add things as I go, or omit things that I don’t like or have on hand.  Baking does not allow for any of the above.  Challenging if you ask me!

I was pretty sure that things were looking normal at this point.  But once I popped everything into a 350 degree oven I had to say a little prayer.  For 55 agonizing minutes I kept on wondering if the bread was rising too fast, not fast enough, or not rising period.  I was beginning to get hungry and was crossing my fingers I that I didn’t screw everything up.  But then, something amazing began to happen… the smell in the kitchen was mouth-watering, no smoke alarms where going off, I had to reassure myself that I followed the recipe.  How badly could I screw up?  I guess not badly at all……because this beauty came out of the oven almost an hour later.

Call me Betty Crocker.  I just baked my first pumpkin bread.  And guess what?  It was pretty darn tasty.  Thanks again John.  This will be a holiday favorite from now on.

Here is the recipe for all-american pumpkin bread

*1 1/2 cups unbleached all purpose flour

* 1/2 cup stone ground yellow cornmeal

*1/2 cup sugar

*2 tsp baking powder

*1/2 tsp baking soda

*1 1/4 tsp cinnamon

*1 tsp salt

*1/4 tsp ground ginger

*1 cup pumpkin puree

*1 cup cooked wild rice

*1/4 cup maple syrup

*1 large egg, slightly beaten

*3 tsp . Canola oil

Preheat oven to 350 oil an 8 inch loaf pan

combine flour through ginger in a large bowl

combine pumpkin through oil in a separate bowl and mix well.  Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix until combined.

bake for 55 minutes in a 350 degree oven.  Cool for 10 and serve!  Yum

This entry was posted in baked goods. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to a case of the monday’s

  1. korinda says:

    Congratulations! You can totally bake! Next you need a stand mixer for your counter! Have you ever tried King Arthur Flour? I bake waaaay more than I cook and I’ve found it to be pretty superior. They are located in Vermont and are employee-owned, too!
    http://www.kingarthurflour.com/about/

  2. Julie says:

    Love the King Arthur flour out here too! Yay for baking!

    • drealieberg says:

      With this cold snowy weather, I may be onto something…..baking sounds good on a day like today. King Arthur flour is on my list!

  3. laura says:

    Yes – King Arthur Flour is a MUST! It’s located in the area I grew up so I always counted it as shopping local:) Tons of great stocking stuffer ideas and ridiculous recipes – especially good if you’re a new baker!

Leave a Reply

