a day pruning apple trees

This morning started out really cold.  10 degrees outside to be exact. (since I began farming I am obsessed with checking the weather)  I was really dreading another cold day of pruning apple trees.  It’s getting old.  However, something amazing happened……the sun came out, I was in good company, and we ended up having an awesome day of pruning.

I actually don’t mind pruning apple trees on a day like today.  However, the most difficult thing about working at the farm now is that we do the same thing all day long.  In the heart of the season we were busy doing so many different tasks.  This has been quite the adjustment.  But just wait, in the middle of July I will be daydreaming of pruning apple trees while I try desperately to stake and string tomatoes.

Happy Friday!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to a day pruning apple trees

  1. Sue says:

    What kind of apple trees does the farm have? The pruning sounds painful but think of the beauties you will harvest next year (in October?).

    • drealieberg says:

      We have over a thousand apple trees and I don’t know all the varieties. We have the usual macouns, macintosh, gala, honey crisp, spencer, jonagold, empire, liberty, golden delicious, and sun crisp. That’s all I can think of but we have more than that! We started harvesting the apples early September this year. Everything was early at the farm this season. But around September/October of next year we will be back at it. And the will hopefully be delicious!!

  2. Karen Anne says:

    My ears are freezing just looking at those photos 🙂

  3. sundya says:

    brrrr!!! I’m shivering just thinking about east coast weather!! I meant to tell you…I took your idea of ‘beetza’ and made a roasted sweet potato pizza, caramelized onion and ricotta pizza baked it then topped it with fresh arugula dressed with olive oil salt & pepper…. delicious!! I mashed the sweet potatoes and spread them out as the sauce. amazing! thank you for the idea!

Leave a Reply

