just a few things

Since we are going out to dinner tonight, I will not be cooking a 5 star meal.  With that being said, I though I would let you all in on a few personal details about me. So here we go…..

1.  Taylor and I met on a dude ranch in Montana 6 years ago.

We both worked, played, and square danced our way through the summer of 2004.

2.  I am from Portland, OR.  The best city in the country!

3. I have lived in New York City, Boston, Aspen, and Bend OR.

4. While I was living in NYC, Taylor was up in Maine finishing college.  The Fung Wah bus saved our relationship.  We would meet up in Boston for weekends.

4.  I have my esthetics license and used to give facials for a living. Beautician turned farmer?  I think I am the first.  And proud of it!

5.  Taylor and I love living out of suitcases.  I am a homebody, but love nothing more than the excitement of being on the road.  We have driven across the country 4 times.

6. My brother-in-law is French so I am assuming that makes me at least a quarter French.  And I’m happy about that.

7.  Until last year, my whole life fit into 2 suitcases.

8.  I still get homesick for my childhood home and friends.

9.  I could barely boil water until this summer.  Just ask my mom. It’s a true fact!

10.  I was not a dog person until he came along:

11. I don’t particularly love pruning apple trees.

12. Taylor and I are getting married in January.  We are having a western themed wedding with a live band and square dancing.  Bringing us back full circle.  That’s all I’ve got!

This entry was posted in Adventures, Random Goodness!. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to just a few things

  1. Marianne says:

    I think you’re wonderful!! You make me feel young again. So, thanks.

  2. Jill says:

    You guys are great! Love reading about your food, farming, and lives. You two will make it, you are refreshing, real people. Just keep on going for it, whatever “it” is! As a side note, thanks so much for turning me on to pumpkin butter! If I don’t write again before your wedding, I wish you all the best!

  3. amy leclerc says:

    Well, it’s been quite a ride! It’s been fun being a part of your adventures-from staying with you at the fancy house in Aspen (I’ll butcher Martina N’s last name, but you know what I’m saying), to sharing beds in NYC, Bend, Portland and God knows where else (oh, Sydney & France!!)…to your current stop, RWE’s crash pad. It’s been real, that is for sure.

    Thanks for writing, it is a highlight of my day to read your new posts.

    XO

    • drealieberg says:

      Thanks for always visiting me wherever I live. Between the two of us we sure get around! It seems like we have lived 100 different lives! XOXO

  4. Sounds like you’ve already lived so much! Congrats and good luck with the wedding! Happy Holidays!

  5. Heidi says:

    Hey, that’s so great — congratulations on the upcoming wedding! (I haven’t square danced in years, but I recall it to be a seriously fun endeavor… yay!)

    And the Fung Wah bus… too funny!! I just looked up their website, and now I know how I will get to Boston from NY and vice versa should I ever need to…. who could resist “Fung Wah”? Of course I’m in Chicago, so this need will not be immediate, but… who knows, some day…!

    • drealieberg says:

      the bus fair is only 15 dollars! that’s the best part! (or at least it was only 15 dollars when I took it 4 years ago.)

      • Leah says:

        Heidi, just so you know, these days it’s better to go Bolt Bus. $20, leather seats, wireless (most of the time), and it doesn’t strand you in CT or have the person next to you eating cloves of raw garlic for the 4 hr trip. (Both of these happened)

        Also, Fung Wah had to raise their prices to $15 from $10 when they were convicted of drug running.

  6. Karen Anne says:

    Four times cross country, wow. I am hoping to do that once before I croak 🙂 Did you take different routes each time?

    • drealieberg says:

      We are about to do our 5th trip soon! It’s a great experience. Yes we do different routs. Not sure which one we will take this time.

  7. Carrie says:

    GREAT list and can hardly wait to celebrate the big day with you.

Leave a Reply

