buffalo chili pie?

When I am cold, really really cold, I often think of what I would like my last meal to be.  I know this sounds dramatic, and it really is, but working at the farm has caused me to think of really bad situations.  Like heat stroke or hypothermia.  If it’s not one it’s the other.  And today I was worried about hypothermia.  I was freezing.  I wore my ski suite to work, with hand warmers and all, but still……I was cold.  And while I was busy climbing trees worrying about my overall health I started to think about my last meal.  Chili popped into my head.  Chili always sounds good on a cold day.  But it sounds downright, ready to give my right arm good on a day like today.  So when I got home from work I got busy making my last meal.  Enter, buffalo chili pie.

Thanks to Erika we had a pound of bison left from our trip up north.  And by God, today was the day I needed to use it up.  I used the same chili recipe from the butternut squash chili but swapped turkey for buffalo and did not use any butternut squash.  The buffalo was a great addition.  Instead of eating this as a traditional chili soup, I used up the last pie crust from here:

Once my chili was done cooking I poured it into one of these pie shells.  Topped everything off with some pepper jack cheese and threw it in a 375 degree oven for 30 minutes.

This was the perfect way to enjoy a wonderful chili dish in a different way.  We loved it!

Enough said.  Have a great weekend!

This entry was posted in chili, Random Goodness!. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to buffalo chili pie?

  1. liz says:

    It that a famous liz Pedal shirt on Taylor? It could be a collector’s item one day.

  2. amy leclerc says:

    You sure know how to get creative. It’s like all the blood not flowing to your hands is flowing to the right side of your brain! YUMMY.

    I made Big Sur Lemon bars, Rack of Lamb and Sole Mueniere for dinner tonight (all prepped and ready!_-cross your fingers it all turns out. Tres Chic!

  3. Carrie says:

    Get that man to the barber before the wedding day!

  4. Karen Anne says:

    I was checking my local winter farmers’ market hours on farmfresh.org and remembered you guys. There seem to be two, not all that close to Concord, maybe 7-10 miles, one in Carlisle and one in Wayland.

Leave a Reply

