face-off!

Just a friendly competition between two lovers.  Okay, this was more than a friendly competition, but that is only because it involved a very important matter….pizza.  You all know how much Taylor and I love our pizza.  It is an essential week night meal.  And tonight, we decided to have a face-off! Taylor and I both enjoy each others pizzas, but tonight was the night to try them side by side.  And of course, since I hate trying the same thing twice, I decided to try a new pizza, while Taylor stuck with an old favorite.

Game faces on!

While Taylor was busy sauteing up peppers and onions, I was busy creating my “pizza sauce.”  Which was totally risky if I say so myself.

Taylor’s base for his pizza was bbq sauce, mozzarella cheese, peppers, onions, and sausage.

Mine was goat cheese, blackberry jam, prosciutto , parmesan cheese, spinach and crushed walnuts.  Weird I know!

So who’s pizza was the best?

Taste testing……..

Why screw around with a good thing?  Taylor’s pizza totally kicked my butt!  It was so moist, dense, and tasty.  Mine was dry.  The flavors worked well, but who the heck want’s blackberry jam on their pizza? I thought I did! But it turns out, when you are craving pizza, sometimes traditional is better.  Unless it’s Beet-za!

Have a wonderful night!

This entry was posted in Pizza. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to face-off!

  1. iowasthinking says:

    Even if it wasn’t a winner, yours sounds terrific! I love the innovation. My biggest branch-out has been smitten kitchen’s shaved asparagus pizza — admittedly, a total triumph.

    • drealieberg says:

      ohhh, I will look into the shaved asparagus pizza. That sounds good. I think last nights pizza was good, and with a little tweaking could be a real hit.

  2. amy leclerc says:

    Your was prettier though…that counts for something. xo

  3. Karen Anne says:

    I had a pizza once with goat cheese and sliced pears and some other stuff that I don’t recall, yum.

  4. Heidi says:

    Ha!!! That is a set of seriously awesome pictures — love it!! As for the pizza, hmm… hard to beat a classic like Taylor’s, but if anyone can do it, I think you can!

  5. Dorothy says:

    Hmnn. Your pizza sounds v promising, Andrea. Not sure why it was dry. How about if your base is a veryveryveryvery thin layer of mozzarella. Then at the prosciutto & spinach, then the goat cheese, then parm, then the crushed walnuts.

    You’re onto something with the blackberry jam, however. Maybe pair it with ricotta, and – hey – pair it with thin-sliced roasted pears? Or figs? And a tiny bit o’basil

Leave a Reply

