home sweet home

What can I say…..I am a true homebody.  I love to travel, but there is something so special about being in your own home, eating your own food, and playing by your own rules.  My rules mainly consist of butter and plenty of wine.  And man does it feel good to indulge in both!

After 4 days of eating out, I couldn’t wait to get back into the kitchen.  And since we have been eating a lot of heavy food since Thanksgiving, I thought something light would hit the spot.  Turns out… I was right.  There is nothing a light butternut squash soup can’t cure.

Okay, a side of goat cheese crostini is a must.  But this is still a light meal, with a ton of flavor!

I added curry powder to my butternut squash soup which turned out wonderfully.  I am telling you, this is a MUST ingredient in the soup.  I don’t think I have ever used curry powder with my butternut squash soup before, so this was exciting! Try it out, it adds a nice kick.  Also, the goat cheese crostini complimented the meal very nicely.

Ingredients:

3 cups of cubed butternut squash

1 large onion chopped

1/2 cup butter (or more as desired)

6 cups chicken broth

SECRET INGREDIENT……….CURRY POWDER!!! 2 TBS OF CURRY POWDER!!! YUM!

A dash of cumin

A dash of paprika

A dash of salt

Directions:  Saute your onion in 1/2 cup of butter.  Add the butternut squash and chicken broth.  Add your spices.  Bring to a boil. Once everything comes to a boil scoop out the squash.  Puree in a food processor.  Then add the mixture back to the broth.  Stir and serve hot.

Goat cheese Crostini:

1 baguette of bread

goat cheese

olive oil

Herbs of Provence

Cut your bread into 1 inch slices

sprinkle with olive oil

smear on goat cheese

sprinkle herbs of Provence

Bake at 475 for 8 minutes, or until golden brown.  Enjoy!

 

This entry was posted in Butternut Squash, soup!. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to home sweet home

  1. Leslie says:

    I like your rules !!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. jomace says:

    Sounds like your Dunkin Donuts days are as distant as summer I’m trying to make just two or three of your recipes. They all look so good.

    • drealieberg says:

      My bad habits are still in full force. I hit up Starbucks today. It’s out of control! You should try the beetza. Still one of my favorite recipes so far. If you don’t like beets, try the butternut squash and bacon pizza. Easy and delicious!

  3. korinda says:

    I love curry in my soup – it’s also really good in chicken salad with cranberries and nuts and such. One squash I could not find when I was living in Massachusetts was called “banana squash” – it’s my favorite. It’s shaped like a giant football, just a little more elongated. My grandmother used to bring them home to me from Southern Indiana to Northeast Indiana (hometown) so I could make banana squash bisque. It is seriously some of the best squash I have ever used for soup – far better than butternut and definitely more sweet. They can get pretty darn big, too. I once sliced one open that was really ripe and the seeds inside had actually sprouted (which I took as a sign that banana squashes are magic). Anyhow, if you can get your hands on one of these, trying making the soup with chicken broth and heavy cream, and then with a pinch of curry, a little cinnamon and nutmeg, and a touch of sugar to bring out the flavor. We never tire of it!

    • drealieberg says:

      I have never heard of banana squash. I will definitely look for it. You say it’s better than butternut??? I will have to eat it to believe it! I am on the hunt now! Your soup sounds divine.

  4. Carrie says:

    Would you write the rules for the world, please?

Leave a Reply

