and…..action

We spent 7 hours pruning apple trees today.  That’s a lot of pruning!  And seven hours later my arms are sore, my wrists hurt, and my neck is slightly cramped from looking up so much.  Another day of farm work has come to an end.  Days like today make me wish I was taller, stronger, and not so vulnerable to the cold.  However, like everything else, I somehow made it through a long day.  Taylor didn’t do so bad himself either.  Then again he is a foot taller, way stronger, and never gets cold!

Today we decided to capture the beauty of our apple pruning skills.  I would like for my mom and dad to see me climbing trees, using a saw, and chopping branches down with giant loppers.  Don’t be fooled by the flower on my hat, pruning apple trees is tough work!

After our long afternoon pruning we were cold and hungry.  We loved last nights dinner so much that I decided another soup night was ahead of us.  The problem……last nights soup was so good that this one didn’t hold a candle.  Don’t get me wrong, it was tasty but Gypsy Soup holds a special place in my heart now.  And I even added bacon to this dish!  If you are toying between gypsy soup and Andrea’s butternut squash, bacon, and everything soup go with Gypsy Soup.

Looks good.  And it really was. But there was just something missing.  Not enough bacon maybe?

Ingredients:

1 leek chopped

5 sliced of bacon chopped

2 cups butternut squash cubed

1 can black beans

1 cup peas

1 cup diced tomatoes

3 cups chicken stock

1/2 cup goat cheese (plus more for garnish)

2 tsp paprkia

2 tsp cumin

2 tsp cayenne

Cook the bacon.  Add the leek and butternut squash.  Saute for about 15 minutes over medium heat.  Add the tomatoes, beans, peas, and spices.  Simmer for about 20 minutes.  Add goat cheese and stir until it is fully melted.  Serve hot with goat cheese on top.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Adventures, soup!, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to and…..action

  1. kathryn says:

    Ok, i’ve been enjoying your blog too long not to let you know how it makes me smile everyday. This pruning video…tops! I found you through the NYT article and have been dedicated ever since. Food, farm, Henry — love it, love the dinner inspiration and love that it helps soothe my homesickness for the east. Many thanks & heartfelt encouragement so that I can continue living vicariously.
    (btw, have A Year in a Vegetarian Kitchen? I’m completely amazed every time I make something from it. Simple, combinations/methods I wouldn’t think of, and surprisingly great results.)

    • drealieberg says:

      Thanks for following along Kathryn! I will definitely check out A Year in a Vegetarian Kitchen. Sounds good. I am always looking for new recipes!
      Where are you living now? Where in the east are you from. I miss the west!!!!

Leave a Reply

