butternut me up

It’s the return of the butternut squash!  It has been a few weeks sine I’ve cooked with my favorite winter squash and tonight I had butternut on the brain.  But not just any old butternut squash recipe would do. I wanted to do something special.  And since our favorite cousin was coming for dinner I declared it a special occasion.  And this particular occasion called for carving pumpkins.

I know…..Halloween was 2 weeks ago.  But these little guys are not for the front porch.  No they are not.  They are the perfect bowls for butternut squash chili.  Yes, that’s right, you get to enjoy a little pumpkin with every bite.  What more could you ask for?  Maybe a side of corn bread.  Yes that’s acceptable.

Tonight’s dinner was butternut squash turkey chili.  And it turned out wonderfully. And yes, we enjoyed ours with a side of cornbread.  Just the way all chili recipes should be served!

What you will need:

Sugar pumpkins (one for each person) cut the tops off and gut them out.  Drizzle some olive oil and salt and pepper and roast them in the oven at 350 for 30 minutes

1 pound ground turkey

1 medium sized butternut squash peeled and cubed

2 cans red kidney beans

1 can black beans

2 cups chicken broth

1 onion

2 cloves garlic

1 green bell pepper

1 jalepeno pepper

and these spices: 

In a large cooking bowl saute your onion and garlic in some olive oil for about 5 minutes.  Then add the butternut squash.  Keep cooking for another 5 minutes.  Add your turkey and cook through.  Once your turkey is cooked add the peppers, beans, and chicken broth.  Then add all  your spices.  I eyeball all my spices.  I like it spicy!  Simmer for 25 minutes.  That’s it!

Serve you chili in the pumpkin bowls.  So pretty!

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Butternut Squash. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to butternut me up

  1. Ceci says:

    YAY! Thank you! I have one med. butternut squash that I need to cook (& didn’t know how). This is perfect! And I love the sugar pumkins!

    Yum!

  2. I love the idea of a butternut chili! I have so much winter squash / sweet potatoes / pumpkin in my house right now and this sounds perfect for cold rainy nights. Serving it in a sugar pumpkin is adorable….and delicious.

    • drealieberg says:

      I have never tried this before and it turned out so well! Any winter squash will do. And the pumpkin bowls are delicious! Give it a go!

  3. Christina says:

    Looks amazing! So sad I missed this!!!!

Leave a Reply

