gnocchi?

We worked a short day today.  Taylor and I were scheduled to take produce to the Central Square farmers market but the weather was horrible.  Instead, we stayed at the farm and kept busy doing clean-up work.  The clean up work is sometimes monotonous but the good news is that we spent most of the day inside.  It was rainy, windy, and cold.  I was so happy I didn’t have to throw on all my rain gear and head into the storm.  Thank god for the green house. That kept us busy.

Since we are heading into the winter season I have expressed some nervousness about how cold it’s going to be.  Thanks to my father-in-law to be, I will have a brand new insulated body suit for work.  I can’t wait to model pictures of that!  At least it will  be warm!

Speaking of body insulation, tonight I cooked something that is guaranteed to add some insulation.  Spinach gnocchi with a lot of cheese.  This recipe was SO good that Taylor rated it a 10+  And I have to agree.  This was pretty darn good.

I have never made gnocchi before so this was a challenge.  However, as with most recipes/ideas, you just add things as you go and everything somehow turns out.  Tonight was no exception.

We made our spinach gnocchi with a side of roasted brussels sprouts.  The perfect meal.

Here is what you will need:

For the Gnocchi:

* Roughly 3 cups spinach

* 1 egg

*1 1/2 pound ricotta cheese

* 1/3 cup parmesan cheese

* roughly 2 cups of flour (we added a lot as we went)

For the Sauce:

2 1/2 cups diced tomatoes (you can use canned tomatoes)

4 tbs olive oil (more or less)

3-5 cloves garlic (depending on your love of garlic) I used 6 cloves

1/2 cup goat cheese

1. Steam your spinach in a pot of simmering water for one minute (until it is wilted) Drain and let cool

2. Add your spinach, egg and 1/2 of the ricotta to a food processor.  Blend.  Once it is blended transfer to a big bowl and add the other half of the ricotta cheese and the parmesan cheese. Season with salt.

Good looking dough!

3.  Start adding the flour.  Mix everything together until it is dough-like.  I added a lot of flour.  Not sure how much.  Just add as you need it.

4. Divide your dough into 3-4 sections.  Roll out one section at a time into a rope.  Cut your rope in half once it gets too long (like a foot) and when the rope is about the width of your pointer finger cut it into 1-inch pieces.  At this point use a fork to imprint on one side of the dough.

Like this.

Then add your gnocchi one at a time into a pot of boiling water.  Add about 10 at a time.  Once they rise to the top of the water they are cooked.  Remove with a slotted spoon.  Repeat until all the gnocchi is cooked.  It cooks fast!  About 1 minute!

Meanwhile cook your sauce.

In a medium frying pan sautee the garlic in olive oil.  Then add the diced tomatoes.  Cook over medium heat for about 7 minutes.  Then add the goat cheese.  Stir and keep warm.  Add the cooked gnocchi to the sauce.  Serve hot!

We enjoyed our gnocchi with roasted brussels sprouts.  We roasted them in olive oil, salt, and garlic.  Roast at 475 for 12 minutes. Perfect!

We washed our meal down with Harpoon UFO.

I like mine in a wine glass.

Taylor likes his in a bottle.

Did I mention how good this was?

It’s time for bed!

This entry was posted in brussles sprouts, Spinach. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to gnocchi?

  1. liz says:

    Andrea this sounds like a bit of work. You can make it for me when you come to Oregon in Jan. Is that my future son-in-law donning a new winter look? You two are really amazing. I’ m looking forward to your being my chef in residence come Jan.

    • drealieberg says:

      I can’t wait to cook for you and dad! So many new and fun recipes. I love it! And yes, that is Taylor’s new winter look. The facial hair keeps him warm. At least that’s what he tells me. Who knows…..I am hoping for a clean up before the wedding!

  2. korinda says:

    I just came off of two years of intermittant outdoors work in Massachusetts and those winters are soooo cold! (Think planting beach grass on Cape Cod in January!) I’m gloves and socks crazy because when my hands and feet get cold, my brain just totally stops working. Anyhow, you might try getting some Grabbers to keep in your pockets for really cold days.
    http://www.warmers.com/default.aspx
    The ones for your hands slip into your gloves. The ones for your feet just stick to your socks – I always stuck them to my sock liners and then pulled on big wool socks over that. I had friends who would stick them to the rest of their clothes, too. They work great stuck to a sports bra or the waist of your pants. Just don’t stick them to your skin! Anyway, I stayed warm for two years with these guys, hopefully it will work for you!

    • drealieberg says:

      I am ordering some right now!!!! I have used hand warmers skiing before, but have not used them at the Farm. Thanks for the idea. The ones for the feet are key. That sounds like something I need. I am with you, when my hands and feet are cold, I am useless. Your job sounded interesting. What all did you do? Thanks again for the advice!

      • korinda says:

        I was an AmeriCorps member with AmeriCorps Cape Cod. It is one of the best AmeriCorps programs in the country – 26 members sign on for a 1 year environmental community service commitment and are housed by Barnstable County and the National Seashore. There are 13 members in a house in Bourne (close to the bridge) and 13 in a house in Wellfleet (out on Seashore property). Members do all kinds of outdoors stuff – chainsaw work, dolphin rescues, elemtentary education – I liked it so much I stayed a second year!
        http://www.rdoac.org/americorps/

  3. Andrea (and Taylor),

    You guys rock! I made this tonight with my housemate and we LOVED it! I wanted to let you know that I shared my photos on my blog, along with a link to your blog. Thanks for always sharing!

    http://misadventuresofmonsterlibrary.blogspot.com/2010/11/spinach-ricotta-gnocchi.html

Leave a Reply

