a soup kind of day

It was cold out there today.  I mean COLD.  While I was on my hands and knees planting garlic I had one thought on my mind.  Is it only 9 a.m.?  It was only 9 a.m. and I was going downhill fast.  It was hard to plant a vegetable that I would not get to enjoy until next July.  I was freezing and thinking about all the other jobs out in the world that have thermostats in their buildings.  However, I finally quit my bitching and continued to plant.  And next July when our garlic gets harvested, I will look fondly on this day and know that my cold fingers planted amazing garlic.  (hopefully!)

Tonight, when I got home from the farm I put the tea kettle on.  Sometimes the only thing that will warm me up after a cold day is some hot tea.  And while I drank my tea I decided to make some soup.  It was the only thing that sounded good and I tried to use ingredients that we already had at the house.   What did I find? Sweet potatoes, carrots, onion, and chicken broth.  What does that equal? Sweet Potato and Carrot Soup.  It was just what the doctor ordered. Here is what I did:

Peeled and Chopped 3 sweet potatoes

Chopped 2 large carrots

toss them in olive oil, paprika, cumin, and hot pepper flakes (just about 1 tsp of each)

Roast the carrots and potatoes in the oven at 425 for 20 minutes.  Or until you can stick a for in the potatoes easily.  The carrots wont be quite as soft but that’s alright.

While that was roasting I sauteed up my onion over the stove top.  Cooked my onion over medium heat for about 10 minutes.  Or until soft.

When my veggies were done roasting I threw them in the food processor with the onion and chicken stock (about 1 cup)

Just press the button!  Once your soup is to the consistency you like (I like mine a little lumpy) heat over the stove until warm.

Top with some parmesan cheese.  The perfect meal for two tired and cold farmers!

This entry was posted in Carrots, Sweet Potato, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

