is it summer again?

I am totally confused.  Today I woke up, took Henry for a walk, went to Dunkin Donuts (if you recall) and then up to work.  However, something was wrong…..  I was wearing a hat, long sleeves, and heavy boots. By the time the caffeine from DD set in, I realized I was overdressed.  It was too late, I was stuck at work, overdressed and mildly confused.  Why am I sweating?  Wow, my hair is really big all of a sudden! Are my ankles swollen?  Weather on the East Coast is frustrating.  Three days ago I was seven layers deep in long underwear and flannel. Today I was fantasizing about tank tops and lemonade.  Forget the fact that it was raining, it was HUMID and I was hot! Lesson learned, do not pack away the tank tops after the first frost.

Alright, now that I am done complaining about the weather (I do this too much) I will show you what dinner was all about.  We harvested a lot of parsley at the farm today and I decided I wanted to use it in a pesto dish tonight.  I have never had any other pesto aside from the traditional basil pesto.  Remember how sad I was after learning our basil was done for the season? So tonight I wanted to try something different.  And it turned out really well.  All you will need is the following:

Parsley (about 1/3 cup chopped and removed from stems)

1-2 cups spinach (removed from stems)

3 cloves garlic

1 cup olive oil

1/4 cup parmesan cheese

a hand-full of walnuts

pasta of your choice

Begin by cooking your pasta according to the directions.  And while the water is boiling for your pasta begin to make your pesto.

Throw all of the above ingredients in a food processor and press the button!  When your pesto is to the consistency you like season it with salt and pepper.

look at that color!

We enjoyed our pasta with an ice cold beer.  In honor of the warm weather of course.  Have a great evening!

This entry was posted in pasta. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to is it summer again?

  1. Paj says:

    There is one expression you need to remember if you plan to stay in New England: “If you don’t like the weather, wait one minute”. Pretty much sums it up.

  2. Pingback: pizza…..again…. | A Farmer In The Dell

Leave a Reply

