An Early Friday Night

I would love to leave out the details of my day at the farm, but I am not going to!  First of all, this morning was freezing and I actually thought my fingers where going to fall off.  I began imagining the E.R. and doctors telling me I waited too long, my fingers would not make it.  Frostbite entered my mind, as did hot chocolate, and then when things got really bad, hot whiskey. Things were going downhill fast, my fingers were beyond cold.  However, somehow I made it through one of the coldest mornings at the farm so far.  (Please forget all the old blogs posts about my complaining of the heat!) That’s the thing about farming, rain or shine, 100 degrees or 20 degrees.  Things still need to get done.

Looking quite happy despite the harsh morning. Thank god this wasn’t a close up picture. I had dirt in my eyes, ears, nose, and mouth.  It was one of those days at the farm.  Please excuse the ugly waterproof overalls.  Farm fashion baby!

All day I was imagining what my last meal would be if I was not going to make it.  And comfort food came to mind.  Pasta, cheese, cream, garlic, spinach, peas and prosciutto.  Yes, this is my idea of comfort food!  And in honor of what I thought my last meal would be if I did not make it (guess what???? I made it!) I decided to cook all of the above.

First, I began by boiling a big old pot of water and adding some whole wheat pasta.  And while that was happening I sautéed up some garlic.  Then I added some heavy cream and about 1/3 cup of goat cheese.  While that began mixing together I added some frozen peas and prosciutto.

And once the pasta was done cooking I added some spinach to the cream sauce.

I served our pasta with a side of spinach salad.  Lots of spinach tonight.  Thanks to all of our hard work harvesting spinach today I came home with a lot!!!

Thanks for learning how to use my camera Taylor!

Look at the color of that spinach!

With a side of vino, and Henry’s butt!

Happy weekend!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An Early Friday Night

  1. Leslie says:

    Happy weekend to both of you and Henry too !

Leave a Reply

