Coming To An End

I only have two more weeks left at the Belmont farmers market for the season.  Which means a lot of changes are happening.  Some changes are very good, like not driving the van down route 2 anymore.

I still can’t believe I drive this monster!

Some changes are going to be hard to get used to.  Like eating fresh produce.  Tomatoes, beets, lettuce, peppers……I could go on and on.

I do love my beets, and turnips for that matter.

Oh tomatoes, I will miss you. But I will never forget staking and stringing you in 100 degree heat.  That will haunt me forever!

And our lovely peppers.  Wonderful raw in salads or stuffed like I did in last nights dinner.

And last but not least, I will absolutely miss Ragab and his wife Samira.  They feed me every week and I always look forward to their wonderful food.

They are the best.  If you live in the Massachusetts area you need to look them up.  Samirashomemade.com They make the best hummus around, and they are delightful people.

And even though the farm season is coming to an end soon, the work continues.  I will be pruning apple trees well into December and plan on taking full advantage of all our root vegetables still available at the Farm.  The recipes will go on.  And for tonight’s dinner I will not be cooking.  I am sitting here eating leftover hummus and tabouli from Ragab.  I have to fill up while I can!

Have a great evening. I am thinking fried green tomatoes for tomorrow night. Will keep you posted.

This entry was posted in Random Goodness!. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Coming To An End

  1. amy leclerc says:

    It is so cool that by farming you are really in tune with seasons and changes. There is always something new on the horizon, I like that. At the same time, I am sure thinking about a Thursday without fresh hummus and pita is a bit painful. I am still dreaming about the spicy grapeleaves-nothing better!

  2. Karen Anne says:

    How about a photo of Ragab and Samira, so we can wave hello 🙂

Leave a Reply

