Alive!

We made it.  Thirty tough miles, snow storms, 75 mile per hour winds and a giant 30 pound back-pack.  Who am I?  This was my first back-packing experience and I am not going to lie, going back out on another trek is not at the top of my list.  Thank god I have been farming all summer because if not, there is no way I could have survived this hike.

While we were on our hands and knees climbing a 5260 ft mountain I had a strange song stuck in my head…… does anyone else know the Darkness song “It seemed like such a good idea at the time”?

Yep, it was around the snow storm that I had that song stuck in my head.  But never fear, I was in good company and aside from the crazy weather, I had a great time.

Looking rather happy despite the fact we had just found out we had 3 more hours of hiking left.  We thought we were done for the night.

Tough looking group

Camp food never tasted so good!

Thanks to Brian, Tamsen and Taylor for getting me through my first back packing experience.

Our celebration dinner was not steak and mashed potatoes, but a close second:

Burger and sweet potato fries.

Back to home cooking tonight.

 

 

This entry was posted in Adventures. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Alive!

  1. amy leclerc says:

    Wow. Who are you?! What happened to the Andrea who lives in miniskirts and fashionable, not functional boots? Truth be told, I kinda like the new Andrea. Plaid never looked so good and you seem to survive these often hellish situations with a semblance of grace and chicness. Go girl!

  2. Liza says:

    I both admire you and think you are crazy!

    glad you made it back in one piece!!

  3. sundya says:

    wow!! I am so impressed!! how in the world did you manage to carry that backpack the whole time? Did Henry go with you?
    we went on a hike yesterday and I had to take a bunch of breaks. The trail went up and down the volcano and through the cloud forrest. It was only 4 miles and I was pooped…and, I wasn’t even carrying anything!
    great job Andrea!!

  4. Jean Husson says:

    Count me in with Carrie and Liza. Glad you all lived to tell the story and have a good laugh. This is one for the grandchildren!

  5. Julie says:

    Oh! Backpacking is so much fun! But you do have to pay attention to the weather…even I wouldn’t want to be out there in a snowstorm!

    • drealieberg says:

      The snowstorm was a surprise! But it was a fun trip anyway. It’s pretty awesome carrying everything you need on your back!

Leave a Reply

