Butternut Squash Part 2

Am I the only one with a ridiculous obsession with butternut squash?  I know I have posted quite a few butternut squash recipes since we have been harvesting them at the farm, but I still can’t seem to get enough.  Today, I needed my butternut fix, and since it was cold and I rainy I wanted my butternut to be accompanied by some heavy cream and cheese. Because everyone knows cream and cheese makes us all warm and fuzzy inside.

Tonight’s menu:  Whole wheat pasta with sage and butternut squash sauce

What you will need:

1 medium-sized butternut squash peeled and cubed (smaller cubes are better for roasting faster)

1 small onion chopped

1/2 cup of heavy cream (roughly)

1 tsp paprika

1 tsp cumin

1/2 cup parmesan cheese

1/3 cup fresh sage leaves minced

whole wheat pasta (or any other type of pasta you would like)

I tossed the cubed butternut squash in olive oil and the cumin and paprika.  Roasted in the oven for about 25 minutes at 375 degrees.

While that was cooking I sautéed up the onion in olive oil for a little less than 10 minutes on med-low heat.  When it was finished I put it in a bowl to the side.

Cook the pasta according to directions.

Place the roasted squash in a food processor with the onion, cream, parmesan cheese, and sage.

Top your pasta off with the butternut sauce and garnish with a little more sage and cheese if you desire (which we did!)

Looks like mac and cheese, but was SO much better

We enjoyed our meal with a side of pumpkin ale.

Alarm clock goes off at 5:30.  It’s going to be a cold and rainy day at the Farm.

This entry was posted in Butternut Squash. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Butternut Squash Part 2

  1. Ceci says:

    Dinner looks sooo good! It’s really chilly in DC this morning. Butternut squash pasta sounds like a great idea already!

    Yum

    • drealieberg says:

      Butternut anything sounds good in cold weather! This pasta dish was a huge hit in my household, you should definitely try it!

  2. amy leclerc says:

    I love the combo of butternut squash and SAGE! Sage makes everything better. I’ll never forget one of my kitchen mentors, Bettina, teaching Cassie and I how to make gnocchi from scratch-the addition of sage was everything. YUM!

  3. Melissa @ HerGreenLife says:

    I share your love of butternut squash. Fortunately, we grew plenty of butternut and other, similar winter squash, like “Sucrine du Berry” this year.

    Have you made butternut squash gnocchi? That’s a great one, and it’s at the top of our “make again soon” list right now.

    • drealieberg says:

      Melissa,
      Welcome to the blog! You are right about one thing, Farming is a hard way to make a living. I could not afford to buy into a farm. Have you ever thought of leasing property at first? That is a lot less expensive. It’s something to think about. Anyway, welcome. I have been toying with the idea of making butternut gnocchi for a while. If you make it soon, send me your recipe!

  4. Can’t wait to try this! Thanks for always sharing!

  5. Heidi says:

    WOW, this recipe sounds so great — thanks for sharing. I’m gonna make it this weekend…!! Love the blog by the way… I’ve been reading since the recent NYT article, and also dipping back into past posts as I have time. Good stuff!!!

  6. Chesna says:

    We’re making this for the second time tonight. It is amazingly delicious. And the butternut squash we have for tonight is so big it’s going to make tons of sauce. Thank you so much for this recipe!

    On another note, I am super jealous of your life on the farm, despite its difficulties. My boyfriend and I live in Bordeaux, but I fantasize about having vegetables as fresh as yours (although to be fair, in France the vegetables are fairly fresh). But for now we just have to live vicariously through you guys and plan a mini garden for our balcony in the spring.
    Enjoy the farm and don’t let the cold get you down!

    • drealieberg says:

      I’m glad you like this recipe. It is so easy and delicious. We need to make it again soon!

      What are you guys doing in Bordeaux? I love France and could eat pastries every morning, and bread and cheese every night. Of course with a side of fresh produce!
      Definitely plant that garden this spring. There is nothing better than stepping outside your house and grabbing some fresh veggies!

  7. Chesna says:

    We moved here 2 years ago to teach English, but ended up staying for me to do a Masters program because universities are ridiculously cheap in France.
    And it is wonderful to have no end to pastries or variety of cheese!

    • drealieberg says:

      Good for you guys. France is a good place to be. My brother-in-law is from Aubignan France. Tiny tiny little town. But very beautiful and right in the heart of wine country! I would love to live in France for a few years! Good for you guys! And of course getting your masters there is a good thing.

Leave a Reply

