….And….Part 3

This morning while I was harvesting carrots in the cold and the rain, all I could think about was more butternut squash pasta.  Luckily for me, I live less than a mile from the Farm and get to come home for lunch.  And today our leftover pasta is saving me.  You all should think about making this.  It is a wonderfully easy dish, and on a cold and rainy afternoon there couldn’t be anything better.

Yum

On my way back up to the Farm.  It is going to be an afternoon filled with harvesting parsnips.  Any recipe suggestions?

This entry was posted in Butternut Squash. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to ….And….Part 3

  1. Elle says:

    I like to make a parsnip soup – perfect for cold rainy day. This one from Gourmet Magazine is similar to the one I make: http://bit.ly/4PeDB4

    • drealieberg says:

      That parsnip soup sounds delicious. Thanks for sending the link. A day like today really makes me crave soup!

  2. Jane says:

    Try this!

    All great receipes on Sprouted Kitchen…this one is for roasted parmesan parsnips.

    http://sproutedkitchen.com/?p=918

  3. My sister never cooks from a recipe so you have to wing it a bit when you make one of her dishes. This lasagna is really delicious and easy to make.

    I found your blog in the NYT article and have been enjoying it. Small world, I live in Concord too.

    Carrie

    POLLY’S SQUASH LASAGNA

    Step #1  Bake a tan squash till done.  Scoop the insides into a pan with some olive oil.  Saute with sage, S&P.  When it is fairly dry, turn off the heat and add grated fontina cheese (3/4c).

    Step# 2  Mix up some ricotta cheese, an egg, sage, thyme, parsley, maybe some parmesan cheese.

    Step# 3 Sauce:   Tomatoes (canned plum), thyme, garlic, olive oil, white wine, S&P.  Reduce until a good consistency.

    Step# 4  Layer squash and ricotta with spinach lasagna noodles (regular, no bake lasagna noodles are good too), put some sauce on top with fontina cheese.  

    Step #5 bake until warm and bubbly and serve with the sauce.

  4. amy leclerc says:

    Well, you farm people have really made an impact on me. I’ve cooked more in the last week than have all year. Ouch. Though tonight’s menu was purely northwest. I was lucky enough to score some wild salmon of which I baked with salt, pepper and a little olive oil. Good salmon needs nada. Seriously, this fish would have been good as sushi grade sashimi. A simple salad of butter lettuce, cherry tomatoes from our garden, some toasted almonds-which warmed a dollop of goat cheese and I’m in heaven.
    Dessert is some almond milk ice cream and NUTELLA! Not quite the brunette spread from Le Pain, but damn, it’s close.

    Love you guys!

Leave a Reply

