Can’t Get Enough

I have a slight obsession with butternut squash.  This time of year if I am having trouble coming up with something to cook, I turn to my favorite winter squash for help.  Tonight I really did not feel like cooking.  I am still recovering from our weekend of running and needed a recipe that would be quick and simple.  As we were leaving the Farm today, I quickly snatched up 2 small butternut squash to turn into a wonderful soup for dinner.

Dinner tonight: Butternut squash soup (from the food network)

Ingredients

  • 1 (2 to 3 pound) butternut squash, peeled and seeded
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 6 cups chicken stock
  • Nutmeg
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper

Directions

Cut squash into 1-inch chunks. In large pot melt butter. Add onion and cook until translucent, about 8 minutes. Add squash and stock. Bring to a simmer and cook until squash is tender, about 15 to 20 minutes. Remove squash chunks with slotted spoon and place in a blender and puree. Return blended squash to pot. Stir and season with nutmeg, salt, and pepper. Serve.

This hit the spot.   I am off to bed early.  I am worried that all the running we did this weekend is going to kill me at work tomorrow.  My hamstrings are shot! Bending down to harvest, weed, or plant will be a major challenge.  Crossing my fingers for a smooth transition back.

This entry was posted in Butternut Squash, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Can’t Get Enough

  1. brightbakes says:

    Such a pretty site (sight) 🙂 I live in the country too, grow most of our own veggies and try to support our local farmers/businesses as much as we can. Had to comment on this, as I too have a radical obsession with winter squash…Me+kabocha= true luv!! 🙂
    keep up the good content!
    Cathy B. @brightbakes

    • drealieberg says:

      I love Kobocha squash as well. If you haven’t tried Delicata yet, you need to find some. It is really tasty! So happy winter squash season is finally here!

Leave a Reply

