Belmont Or Bust!

Thank you! And welcome to all the newcomers who checked out the blog today.

I just got back from the Belmont Farmers Market.  My farmer friend Matt and I had fun and sold as much produce as possible, but for some reason, the whole market was dead today.  The weather was beautiful so I am not sure where everyone was, but we made the most of it.  And by making the most of it, I mean we ate our way through all the other vendors who were there.  Ragab (Samira’s homemade hummus) was of course there and fed me way too much!  Whenever I see Ragab he tells me I look “too hungry” and our conversation ends with me holding a stack of hummus, tabouli, babaganoush and stuffed grape leaves.  I say this every week, but Ragab is the man, and I cannot imagine a Thursday farmers market without him!

We ended our long day at the farmers market with an extremely rainy drive home!  I always love a good excuse to turn the windshield wipers on.  Yes, I am an Oregonian!

After a long day of selling Hutchins Farm produce I came home to something truly wonderful.  Taylor made me dinner!  I think Thursday nights are becoming his night in the kitchen and he makes what real hard-working farmers want to eat….pizza calzones! He made a very similar one last week.  Using farm fresh peppers and onions.

(He even took pictures!)

Yummy!

Dinner is served! Taylor will not reveal his special pizza calzone recipe, but use your imagination.  Every food group you love, all wrapped up in pizza dough!  Can’t go wrong!

Better yet, the two men in my life doing the dishes after a long day!

(for those of you who don’t think we feed Henry, we got him as a rescue dog 4 days ago!  He needs to gain at least 10 pounds.  I think I am the woman for the job!)

Alright, off to bed.  The alarm clock goes off at 5 a.m tomorrow.  However, not for farm work, I am leaving the boys (Taylor and Henry) at home while I participate in a 200 mile relay run through New Hampshire.  I will do my best to keep updates throughout the weekend, but if that fails I will be back to regular blogging/a recap of the experience on Sunday.  Goodnight

This entry was posted in Hot Peppers, Onion, Sweet Peppers. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Belmont Or Bust!

  1. Sue says:

    That kitchen photo looks almost exactly like the old kitchen I had to learn to cook in, iwhen we took care of the Mercy Otis Warren Warren House in Watertown! Those old places love having new people living in them all the time, I think.

  2. Pat Reichert says:

    Hi Andrea. Gosh, I read the article about you and Taylor in the NY Times and wanted to comment on how great I thought it was and what an incredibly amazing young woman you must be…..farming, cooking (not just cooking, but GREAT cooking), blogging (great writing), and housekeeping (in an incredibly large, old house). I don’t know where you find the time to do it all. I love your blog!!!! The recipes are inspiring. I’m not a cook and so something that inspires me to cook has to be good. I think what really grabs me (besides the great writing and pics) is all the home-grown ingredients you use. I really enjoy reading your blog…..keep up the great work!!!! Love to you and Taylor from your Montana Aunt, Patty

    • drealieberg says:

      Hi Pat!

      Thanks for checking out the blog! If you are ever on one of your crazy road trips in the RV come East! We can show you the ropes around the farm and Emerson’s house!

      XOXOXO

  3. Christine says:

    Hi – I just read the article in NY Times and had to check out your blog. I don’t know you but I live in Newton and feel really good that you guys are the new caretakers. I think Mr. Emerson would be very happy too as you seem to embody his spirit. If I ever get a chance to visit the farmers market in Belmont, I’ll stop by and say hello.
    Welcome (back) to Massachusetts!
    Christine

  4. Julia says:

    Andrea, thank you for adopting Henry! I do a ton of rescue work, and although you didn’t ask for advice, I just wanted to offer that Nutri-Cal can be very effective for helping animals gain weight. You can buy the blue tubes online or get them through your vet. I also give Pet-Tabs Plus and Missing Link Plus (in yogurt or cottage cheese) to all dogs as they come out of the shelter and wait for their new families to find them. A dose of Drontal Plus 3 or 4 weeks from now wouldn’t be a bad idea either just to make sure Henry is definitely worm-free! Enjoy him. He looks like a lovely boy – and he’s certainly lucky to have found his way to you! I bet he’s eating all kinds of delicious things from the farm. That squash you wrote about is very, very healthy for dogs when roasted or boiled and mashed. Same goes for sweet potatoes.

    • drealieberg says:

      Thanks for the info Julia. We are taking Henry for his first vet apt. tomorrow. I will ask about the vet about the nutri-cal.
      Henry’s favorite veggie from the farm so far is carrots! He can’t seem to get enough of them.

  5. Shelley says:

    Hi Andrea,
    I came across the NYT article as well, then stumbled upon your blog.. Not only did you inspire me to make stuffed peppers for dinner on Thursday night, but all day at work, I made mental notes to finally go to the Belmont Farmers Market (I moved to Belmont in August). After searching for about 20 minutes in traffic (and in the lovely Northwest rain), we finally found the market behind the Macys parkinglot. They need better signage. By the time we got there it was too wet out for my Northeastern husband (I’m from Seattle, it was hardly drizzling) to wander too much and you were busy putting stuff away. Maybe we’ll meet you another time.

    Love your blog!! Welcome to Boston!!

    • drealieberg says:

      Hey Shelley!

      Welcome to the blog! I am sorry we missed you last Thursday! We are there every week, rain or shine! Gotta love the rain! I am happy to be among other Northwesterners!

      Hope to meet you soon!

Leave a Reply

