An Organic Apple Meets The Big Apple!

Go grab a paper today!

This entry was posted in Adventures. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to An Organic Apple Meets The Big Apple!

  1. Julia says:

    Hello! And congratulations to you both on your new job and new home!

    I just saw the article and read it because my fiance and I are in the process of relocating to Boston. I had been thinking I’d like to go see the Emerson House, and it sounds like we better go within the next month or so before you close for winter.

    All the best!

    P.S. Maybe you should apply to be lighthouse keepers as your next adventure. I lived in Australia for five years, and there are some pretty amazing opportunities to do that sort of work over there…

    • drealieberg says:

      Good luck on your move to Boston! It’s a great city! Lighthouse keepers? That sounds interesting and amazing! hmmmm…..

      • Julia says:

        Best part? No dusting involved! 😛

        (I had to laugh out loud about the “traditional gender roles” comment in the article…)

  2. Teresa Austin says:

    Just read the Times’ article. Will be following your terrific adventure. Keep learning about Emerson. My current favorite Emerson quote is: “The mind of this country, taught to aim at low objects, eats upon itself.” Best of luck!

  3. Karen Anne says:

    Read the New York Times article. Are you guys lucky!

  4. Hi Guys!

    Just read your article in the New York times wish I heard of ya earlier! Congrats and I look forward to your next blog posts. As a matter of fact I added you to my blog list,
    come on by anytime!
    What’s next on the menu?

    Cheers!

  5. Chris says:

    You guys remind me of my husband and me 30 years ago. We got married, and went on one adventure after another. We lived in the South, Midwest, in the mountains, on the beach, in canyons–whatever captured our interest. We supported ourselves doing seasonal work. We did that (much to the chagrin of our families) for almost twelve years. Then we bought a house, and my biological clock started chiming like Big Ben, which lead to us traveling to China to bring home our beautiful daughter. We are a happy little family. Our daughter is eleven now, and I want her to see the world. We live in a very conservative community in Iowa (10 years in one place!) because her school is wonderful. But, reading your blog is giving me “itchy feet” again. Have a great time–may you will look back on these days and be so grateful your unconventional approach to everyday life gives you the courage to do what most people won’t–break out of their cubicles and go see what’s out there! I learned at least as much if not more, traveling and meeting all kinds of people as I did from over twenty years of education. Rock on!

  6. tanya says:

    Great blog – lots of tasty recipes! Congrats on the article, hope the dusting doesn’t do you in.

    Tanya, Cambridge, MA

  7. Carrie Link says:

    Wonderful article, Andrea, you’ve really hit the big leagues now! So glad I get to say I knew you when!

  8. Congrats on making the NYT! Your life sounds idyllic, if you like housekeeping. Housekeeping truly is an art and you sound like an artist. Does living in Emerson’s home inspire your cooking?

    Kathleen

  9. David Lobron says:

    What a great adventure you guys are having! Reading this made me think of my childhood. I grew up a few miles from the Emerson House, and worked at Hutchins Farm for a few summers (Taylor, your dad is a great guy, and the produce there is ridiculously good!) My sister worked as a tour guide at the Concord Museum, across the street from you, and also at the Orchard (Alcott) House right up the street.

    I remember thinking that Emerson, Thoreau, and the Alcotts were the only American writers who ever lived, because we read them so often in school, to the exclusion of almost everything else for a few years. One could certainly do worse! If only Walt Whitman had lived in Concord too….

  10. Stella H says:

    I just read the nice article in the times. the whole deal sounds super sweet! i wish you much joy in all your endeavors. Emerson is one of my fav writers. Good luck and a pat on the head for the dog.

  11. portiaperu says:

    Great article. Best wishes on your new undertaking.

    We live in an adjacent town and will be certain to stop in for a visit. I must admit – yes, you’re detecting a a touch of embarrassment – we have not visited the Emerson House.

    Good luck in your new home.

  12. Ceci says:

    Hi from DC Taylor & Andrea! Just read the NYT article & have to say You’ve got it going on!! What a GREAT job you guys landed! I love New England – it is so full of history!! I will be following your new life experiences on your blog and enjoying a lot of your fresh New England recepies. I’m glad I found you!

  13. Sue says:

    I saw this in my NYT online this morning, and it brought back a flood of memories. I spent much of my early life living in historic houses–from the Wright Tavern in Concord, where my parents had a B&B and antique shop in the 50s), to Gore Place in Waltham, where my mom was the house curator and my dad “farmed” in a small way on the grounds, to the Watertown Historical Society (Warren house), where my ex-husband and I were caretakers in the early 70s. I so envy you the freedom of actually having a dog (my mom was always against it because “the board” of Gore Place wouldn’t approve), but I don’t envy you the dusting and polishing. That was my first paid job at Gore Place in the 60s, though I did enjoy making all the rooms look lived in by placing spectacles and books around as if the Gores had just been there.

  14. Leo Bozzuto says:

    aww man, can i switch places?

  15. G. Emmerson Jones says:

    I just finshed harvesting my crop of African Queen heirloom tomatoes. They are a beautiful work of nature as are the two of you. I would like to send you some seeds as a wedding gift. Please send me an email to jonesge@yahoo.com with your address. After the harverst, I came inside and settled down to looking for some good journalistic pieces. I came across your story in the NY Times. What an excellent story! My younger daughter is a graduate student in storytelling (journalism) at UC Berkeley and I hope she will write stories about interesting people, places, endeavors such as the both of you. I wish you happiness together now and in marriage. Are you going to have a nonconformist wedding? I hope so and I hope they cover it in the NY Times. In my spare time I do research on daguerrotypes such as those of Jenny, Lind, Abraham Lincoln, David Kinnison and others including Emerson. Emerson wrote in his journal in 1841: “The Daguerreotype is good for its authenticity. No man quarrels with his shadow, nor will he with his miniature when the sun was the painter. Here is no interference, and the distortions are not blunders of an artist, but only those of motion, imperfect light, and the like.” I hope you will consider having a “Dag” taken on your wedding day.
    All the best,
    G. Emmerson Jones

  16. Maximus says:

    Congratulations on the dream job and the spotlight the article afforded!

    I think you guys are creating a cool, casual sort of recontexutalized, proto-juxtaposed, almost organic revolution in the way people think about caretaking. Best of luck

    http://www.lemmingtrail.com/mb/252666/

  17. bradcookjr says:

    Awesome, checking for it now. If I find a link I will post it as I think everything is archived even if its just in print.

  18. What a lovely and Inspiring blog. I went back to the beginning and read every entry. Thanks for posting even at the end of some very long days. You do make me appreciate vegetables even more…

    • drealieberg says:

      Thanks for tuning in anne! The blog has been a nice way to remind me how cool our situation is. sometime after a really long day in the fields and then coming home to clean I am SO pooped that I sometimes need a reminder how lucky we are!

  19. robshearer says:

    Great article guys – we can’t wait to come out to Ralph’s Place for a drink… and I think we’re going to make the butternut squash pizza tomorrow night despite the fact that it’s still 99 degrees in Texas.

  20. Annie says:

    Hi! So exciting to read about your home and lives in the NYTimes today and super cool that they linked to your blog. I live in Boston and work at an office all day, and I must say that you guys are an inspiration – I couldn’t help but blog about you myself…

    Have you thought at all about writing a cookbook? Just imagine – simple farm to table food, amazing pictures, and Emerson quotes along the way!

    Enjoy this lovely fall!

    • drealieberg says:

      Thanks for checking out the blog annie! Yes, a cookbook would be awesome! However, I am such a beginner cook that is such a long way off!

  21. amy leclerc says:

    I heart Andrea & Taylor. Way to be yourselves, and let the world peek in on your adventures. Can’t wait to taste all of this bounty firsthand. Hope the place is dusted and pruned before I get there.

    Rock on!

  22. nigel says:

    Seeds are good. But finding the perfect wedding gift is often very difficult! You want to give the bride and groom the very best gift that you can, but there is often questions of “Will they really like this”? or “Is this to their taste”?

    By following our list of “7 Tips” you can be certain of finding a gift that the couple will love and appreciate for many years.
    https://www.sidestreetstudio.com/catalog/sss_access/report_date_range.php?start_date=2010-09-17&end_date=2010-09-18

  23. Joseph Dees says:

    http://www.lemmingtrail.com/mb/252666/

    You seem to have a lot of haters on that messageboard that was previously linked and you should defend yourself, because I think what you are doing is cool and those people are just jealous. Keep up the great blog and congrats on having such a rad job!

    • drealieberg says:

      Thanks Joseph. I have not read the message board, but I am not surprised. There are always going to be haters. The good news is that we are too busy working to give it much thought. Thanks for reading the blog. Hope you are enjoying it!

  24. Peter Crane says:

    As a high school student, nearly fifty years ago, forced to read Emerson, I thought he was the stodgiest of the stodgy, and never gave him a chance. It took me by surprise to learn that in Tsarist Russia, he was considered so radical and dangerous that possession of his writings was a criminal offense. Another Concord note, something I’ve never read anywhere, but which was told to me at the Tolstoy estate some years ago, is that Tolstoy had a cabin built at Yasnaya Polyana in which to write in solitude and tranquility, and called it “Walden.”

Leave a Reply

