More Butternut Squash Please!

Today was one of the best days I have had on the farm all year.  The weather was glorious and despite the fact that I was in a back-braking bent over position for 90 percent of the day, my spirits were high!  We harvested all morning with a nice hour-long break weeding the spinach before lunch.  While we were in the spinach patch a couple of people began sharing some recent recipes that they had been cooking up.  A major trend in all the recipes was butternut squash.  We just began harvesting winter squash last week and I think people are really excited about all the wonderful recipes that involve winter squash.  Butternut being the most popular!  People shared soup recipes, ravioli recipes, and salad recipes.  I started asking if people thought it would be a good idea to make a butternut squash pizza.  Naturally, everyone agreed that that was the best idea ever.  So tonight’s dinner is my own creation and I am happy to share this with you all.  It was so tasty and really easy for the most part.  Here is what went down in the kitchen tonight!

I first peeled, seeded, and cubed two small butternut squash.  I then tossed the cubed squash with olive oil, paprika, cumin, and salt.  Baked in the oven at 375 for 25 minutes.  While that was going on I fried up a little bacon!  Yes I love bacon and put it on WAY too many things.  I left the bacon a little under cooked because it would be going in the oven with the pizza for 10 minutes.

Once the butternut squash was ready I took it out of the oven and blended it in the food processor.

I do wash my hands, but the dirt under my nails will never go away!  That is the price you pay for being a farmer!

While I was blending away Taylor got busy with the pizza dough!

While we were both working hard in the kitchen Henry took a nap…..

Once the dough was ready I began to layer the butternut squash puree, and then some goat cheese

Looking good!

Then I added the bacon and baked in the oven at 420 degrees for 9 minutes.

I topped the whole pizza off with a simple arugula salad with olive oil, lemon juice, and parmesan cheese.

The guest of honor got to have the first slice!

If you need to impress someone I would suggest you make this pizza!  I’m not trying to toot my own horn or anything, but it was really good!

Off to bed!  Have a great night!

This entry was posted in Arugula, Winter Squash. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to More Butternut Squash Please!

  1. robshearer says:

    As soon as it is fall (and we start seeing temps under 90 on a regular basis) I’m totally making this. Love the addition of the bacon.

  2. Carrie Link says:

    Toot away, the idea was brilliant!

  3. Bruce Perry says:

    What a wonderful story about you in the NY Times. But could I offer s suggestion. Read Emerson (and Thoreau), every day, morning, noon or night, pick your time. If only a paragraph or even a line. Put the books by your bedside, but learn who they were. And after a while when you are familiar with them in detail, read their contemporaries. You will become the house so much better if you learn who they were. And after a lifetime, thetr will still be much to learn. But you will not regret it. Thoreau was my constant companion from age 17 to my late 20s and I still can quote him. You will never know the house if you never know the man and to know the man you must read him. Take this suggestion if you can and I assure you when you are truly old (whenever that comes) you will not regret it.

  4. Anon says:

    If you’re growing your own squash and not putting any chemicals on it, you don’t need to peel it (or potatoes, or carrots, or pretty much anything else). Just cook and eat it, and you won’t even notice the peel.

    • drealieberg says:

      Thanks Anon,
      Yes I know I do not need to peel organic squash, but I don’t like the texture of it. Everything else carrots, potatoes, apples, etc. I eat as is. It is awesome eating straight from the fields!

  5. Mariana says:

    Is Henry a rescue? I see that he’s very thin and wearing a belly band. I live in Winchester, MA (just to the east of Lexington), and volunteer for a puppy mill rescue group. How wonderful that you have adopted him!!!

  6. parker says:

    Your dog looks extremely thin. Are you feeding him enough?

  7. parker says:

    ok. great. didn’t see the comment about 10 pounds.
    Yeah for you rescuing him!!
    cheers.

  8. Lindy says:

    YUM!!! I know what I’m making tonight! Loved the article. You’re famous, though you were always famous with me! I’ll send that roast beef recipe tonight.

Leave a Reply

