Meet Henry!

The newest member of our family has arrived!  Henry is a two-year-old yellow lab.  Taylor and I made the hour long trip down to Connecticut after work to pick him up.  Isn’t he lovely?  We are very excited and falling in love quickly!  We have been thinking about getting a dog for over a year now, and this seemed like the right time.  I am so glad we made this decision.  He is wonderful!

I did not let Henry get in the way of me and cooking tonight.  He kept me company in the kitchen chewing on his bone while I cooked up a delicious meal.  Tonight I roasted some butternut squash from the farm.  It was quite tasty and extremely easy.  Here is what I did:

Peel and seed a small butternut squash.  Cut it into 1 inch size cubes.  Toss with olive oil, paprika (probably 1 teaspoon) Cumin (about 1 teaspoon) and sea salt

Bake at 375 for 30 minutes tossing once about 20 minutes in.

Meanwhile I fried up some bacon, and heated up some black beans.

I tossed the butternut squash, black beans, and bacon on top of spinach and threw on some goat cheese and a little red wine vinegar.  It was delicious and really easy!

I am off to play with the dog!  Have a great weekend!

This entry was posted in Adventures, Winter Squash. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Meet Henry!

  1. Carrie Link says:

    My love to Henry! Did you get him from the Humane Society? He is perfect!

    • drealieberg says:

      Hey Carrie!

      We got him from an organization called Adopt A Lab. They rescue labs only. Since we have wanted a lab this seemed like the right place to start. So far we are really happy with the decision. He has been pretty easy so far. Still getting to know him, but he has a good disposition and I think he is pretty happy with Taylor and me!

  2. Judith says:

    Good luck with Henry, he looks lovely! My son just adopted a rescue 2 yr old called Loki and he’s wonderful. Your blog is great!

Leave a Reply

