A Lot of Firsts

I had a very contemplative drive home from the Belmont Farmers Market tonight.  Was it only 5 months ago that Taylor and I began our new farming adventure?  I couldn’t help but chuckle to myself as I was driving a massive farm van up route 2 towards Concord this evening.  A year ago from today I was wearing a dress and working at a day spa in Bend, Oregon. I wasn’t entirely happy with the direction I was heading with my career, but not quite sure where to turn or what to do next.  Farming wasn’t the first thing to come to mind as a change of career from beauty school.  However, it happened!  And now I don’t even recognize myself in the mirror anymore! Trading in dresses and high heels for rubber boots and plaid?  Sure, why not?  Dirt in my nails, bug bites all over my arms and legs, a rats nest in the back of my hair!  I am not complaining at all, it is just interesting. I am not sure where the farming life will lead, but I am pretty sure that I am on a path towards something really important.  And each step of the way is very monumental! For instance, 5 months ago I was standing in an extremely hot green house transplanting tiny lettuce heads into 72 cell trays and saying a silent prayer that each lettuce would grow.  I am not joking when I say I was seriously concerned that somehow my inexperience and lack of precision with anything I do would destroy the farm! Not only did I not destroy the farm, but those tiny lettuce heads grew big enough for us to plant into the ground, and soon after that they grew big enough for us to harvest!

On top of not destroying the farm, I am getting good at filling my own gas tank! Last month I filled my own gas tank for the first time! (I am from Oregon, it is against the law to fill your own gas tank!) I was nervous, I was in a huge van, and I may have run over a curb or two! However, small things like filling my own gas tank for the first time really make me proud! (as silly as that sounds!)

I have also ridden on the back of a tractor planting scallions, leeks, and corn.  I wish I had a picture of this!  That would really make my dad proud!

Another first is the fact that Taylor and I are the official caretakers for the Ralph Waldo Emerson House.  What????? When did all of this change begin to happen???? I sometimes have to pinch myself because if you had told me a year ago from today that I would be trading in dresses and high heels for rubber boots and plaid I would have laughed in your face!  I am taking this all in with as much grace as possible.  But it is still all new, and I am still trying to find my groove.

Thank god I am not alone and have a true team player!  Taylor and I are on this adventure together!  He is even experimenting in the kitchen!  This is very new! I came home from work tonight at 8 pm and he had made us dinner!  A pizza calzone with chicken, peppers, onions, and bbq sauce! A very Taylor inspired meal as well as the perfect meal for an overly tired girl! It was quite tasty, and very farm fresh with the majority of the ingredients!  Yum!

Thank you Taylor! I am off to bed!  The alarm clock goes off at 5:30 a.m.

This entry was posted in Adventures, Hot Peppers, Onion, Sweet Peppers. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Lot of Firsts

  1. liz says:

    Your spirit and enthusiasm are infectious. Looking back allows you to see that you’ve had a year of opening doors.
    These posts just make me smile. Well, okay, they make me hungry too.

  2. Jean Husson says:

    You are such a hoot! You’ll just need to do another blog for the Fashionista Farmer. Love your perspective and recipes.

Leave a Reply

