Isn’t it Ironic?

Look what has arrived at Hutchins Farm………

That’s right people, winter squash is slowly making its way onto the scene.  Normally I would be crying with joy, (I love any recipe involving winter squash) however, today as I worked in the farm stand I could not help but feel bad for all the crew members who were out in 100 degree heat harvesting winter squash.  This seems totally wrong if you ask me.  100 degrees does not equal winter squash in my book.  When is Massachusetts going to get the memo that it is officially September today and I am not happy about this weather!  I have to admit, when I saw one of my farmer friends come into the farm stand for her lunch break I was extremely happy I was not out there lifting heavy crates of winter squash.  I think tears would have been shed today if I was out there! Not a pretty picture at all!

Since I was not out in the fields today (however, I think the farm stand was averaging a temperature of 90 degrees all day) I was able to contemplate all sorts of different dishes I could whip up for a nice dinner for me and Taylor.  He was after all in the fields all day and deserved a nice home-cooked meal.  Did I come through……….maybe.  To be honest, when I walked through the door today I had to clean the Emerson house which was about 10000 degrees.  By the time cooking dinner came around I was too hot to even have an appetite.  However, I pulled through.  The only cure I could think of for cooking/eating in this heat was a nice glass of Chardonnay to start things off!  This got the creative juices flowing! (Actually, it forced me to turn to my new cookbook Food to Live By by Myra Goodman) I flipped to the salad recipes and found this tasty looking creation.

The menu for tonight was a California Waldorf Salad with Chicken (I added the chicken part for extra protein, the original recipe does not call for chicken)

Ingredients:

1/3 cup plain nonfat yogurt

1/3 cup mayonnaise

1 tsp grated lime zest

2 tbs fresh lime juice

2 tsp curry poser

1/2 tsp honey

1 unpeeled apple (Hutchins Farm apples for us!) cut into 1/3 inch cubes

1/2 cup sliced celery (Hutchins Farm!)

1/2 cup dried cranberries

1/2 cup walnuts, toasted

5 ounces spinach (we used a head of lettuce from Hutchins because spinach is not in season for a few more weeks)

*I then added some cooked chicken.  I simmered my chicken for about 45 minutes in pre-made chicken stock until it was fully cooked) Even though I vowed to not turn on the stove in this heat! It was worth it though, I needed protein!

1. Place the yogurt, mayonnaise, lime zest and juice, curry powder, and honey in a small glass bowl and whisk together (If you choose to use chicken in this recipe add your  chicken once it is fully cooked and chilled to this portion)

2. Place the apple, celery, dried cranberries, and nuts in a large bowl.  Add about half of the yogurt dressing and stir to combine.  Just before serving, add the spinach (or any salad greens)  and toss to combine. If the salad is too dry add the rest of the dressing.  (you can save the dressing for up to a week in the refrigerator)

This was a nice light and filling dinner for a very hot day.  Now I am ready to go and stick my head in the freezer before heading off to bed!

Have a great night!

This entry was posted in Apples, Celery, Spinach. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

